The Sheridan Libraries

African Policy Studies (SAIS)

ProQuest All Databases
90+ databases covering scholarly articles, dissertations, news, and more.
CAIRN.info
Articles & books in the social sciences and humanities. Most are in French, although there are some English language articles available.

Pascal and Francis
Multidisciplinary index of articles and conference papers created by the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique. Searching is available in French or English.
EBSCOhost Databases
30+ multi-disciplinary databases covering scholarly journals, magazines and news.

JStor
Search full-text scholarly journals. Coverage for recent years is incomplete.
PAIS
Selective listing of journal articles, books and documents, with an emphasis on public-policy oriented literature.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
International coverage (1951 to present) of social science periodical literature and some books.
Dimensions
Dimensions is a large linked research database, covering scholarly publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, policy documents, and technical reports.

Black Studies Center
Journals, essays and newsletters from Africa, the Caribbean, and the US
International African Bibliography Online
Searchable, with Find It links to full text articles. Covers 1971 to the present day.
Africa-Wide Information
Note - in some cases full-text can be hard to find.
Index Islamicus
From the London School of Oriental and African Studies, Index Islamicus covers books, articles, and conference proceedings dealing with all facets of Islam and the Islamic world.
Middle East & Africa Database
Academic journals that are locally published in many Middle Eastern and African countries.

African Journals Online
Peer reviewed journals published in Africa. Includes free and subscription-based journals.
Africabib
Includes books, journal articles, conference papers and dissertations covering Africa.
Africa portal
Research reports, occasional papers and policy briefs.

ABI/Inform Collection
Journals covering business, economics, trade, finance and related fields
EconLit with Fulltext
Covers worldwide economic literature (journal articles, book chapters, working papers and more).
Business Source Ultimate
Covers business, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts
Military and Government Collection
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Foreign Policy.com
Peace Research Abstracts
Covers areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, international law, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Legal Source
Covers topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.

Policy Commons
A comprehensive database for policy grey literature, including local, state, regional, and national government data available alongside research produced by IGOs, NGOs, and think tanks.

Africa Center for Strategic Studies
The Africa Center is U.S. Department of Defense institution established and by Congress for the study of security issues relating to Africa.
Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS)
Comprehensive analysis of policy issues. Produced by CRS, a federal legislative branch located within the Library of Congress. Includes reports published since 2018. Older reports will be retrospectively added.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Select "CRS Reports" from options on left-hand side. Covers 1916 to present.

Centre for Economic Policy Research Discussion Papers
Papers from a leading European research network in economics.
NBER Working Papers
From the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Some articles and research papers on this site are available at no charge. Others are available for a fee, or via other JHU databases.

Subjects: International and Area Studies

Tags: SAIS