History
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- History
- World Expositions and the Idea of the City (Kargon Fall 2023)
Explore resources and tools for history and historical research.
Primary Source Databases
- World’s Fairs: a Global History of ExpositionsExplore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic.
- London's Great Exhibition of 1851A collection of digitized versions of odd materials on display at the 1851 London's Great Exhibition! The illustrations on display are mainly from books in the collections of the Department of Special Collections and Archives or the George Peabody Library.
- The Great Exhibition and Crystal PalaceShown here are several examples from the George Peabody Library's collection of books and ephemera relating to The Great Exhibition and Crystal Palace. To search the library catalog for additional resources relating to the topic, please go to www.library.jhu.edu.
- JSTOR (ARTstor is now on JSTOR))A collection of digital images in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Primary Sources at Johns Hopkins
Johns Hopkins University World's Fair collection
This artificially-assembled collection consists of materials relating to international World's Fairs and Expositions, including photographs; postcards; written travelogues or personal accounts of the fairs; ephemera, including programs and printed souvenirs; lithographs and engravings; and physical objects. The materials date from the 1830s to the 1960s.
For complete description and to request individual items, use the finding aid.