History
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- History
- The Military-Industrial Complex in Maryland, D.C., and Virginia (Schrader)
Explore resources and tools for history and historical research.
Databases
- Digital National Security ArchiveThe Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
- Black Thought and CultureBlack Thought and Culture is a collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders — teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.
- U. S. Declassified Documents OnlineU.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
Or you might check the curated list in the Military & Strategic Studies database page.
Searching for materials outside of JHU
- WorldCat (First Search)WorldCat FirstSearch is a valuable tool for locating archival materials in addition to other materials. Use an advanced search method to limit to archival materials or to the manuscript format.
Special Collections at JHU
University Archives and Special Collections are searchable in Catalyst . Finding aids for archives and manuscript collections can be searched in ArchivesSpace. You can request books and archives/manuscript collections online once you register and log in to Aeon.
- Department of Military Science records :This collection primarily includes photographs and clippings (both contained in photograph album pages) pertaining to the Department of Military Science and the Army Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC) at Johns Hopkins University. The collection also includes, to a lesser degree: photocopies of historical documents and historical research, correspondence, alumni information, reports, and course materials. The records span from 1918 to 2010.
- William Worthy Papers: The William Worthy papers span 1943 to 2007, documenting Worthy’s career as a journalist, activist, and teacher. he did work on the Military-Industrial Complex among many other topics.
The records of the Applied Physics Lab are not held in the University Archives, but the papers of some of the faculty and researchers are. You can also look at some publications, such as Johns Hopkins APL Technical Digest, and you can do a search for Applied Physics Lab and other terms within ArchivesSpace.
DMV Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington PostHistorical news coverage from the Washington Post.
- Washington Post (1996-Current)Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists. Fulltext articles from Dec. 4, 1996-current.
- Washington Area Spark collectionsThe Montgomery, Montgomery County and Washington Area Spark were left-wing tabloids that were published monthly from 1971-73. A successor publication called On The Move published five issues from early 1974 to early 1975.The name was revived in 2011 when photos from the archives of the newspaper were published on Flickr along with set descriptions that gave context to the events depicted in the images.