Women Gender and Sexuality
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Women Gender and Sexuality
- Online Archives
Archival Colletions Online
- Accessible Archives - Accessible Archives' databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
- American Women’s Suffrage Collection, 1762-1922 - The collection provides access to fully searchable newspapers by and for women including The Lily (1849-1856), National Citizen and Ballot Box (1878-1881), The Revolution (1868-1872), The New Citizen (1909-1912), The Western Woman Voter (1911-1913), The Woman’s Tribune (1883-1909) and the antisuffrage newspaper, The Remonstrance (1890-1913). Subscription includes Parts II-VIII.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender - With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 - Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters: primary materials spanning more than 300 years.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.
- North American Women's Drama - North American Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in colonial times and spans the 19th and 20th centuries to the present. It includes playwrights such as Marsha Norman, Beth Henley, Susan Glaspell, Sophie Treadwell, Gertrude Stein, Maria Irene Fornes, Emily Mann, Zora Neale Hurston, Jane Martin, Lynn Nottage, Theresa Rebeck, Nora Ephron, Susan Sontag, Edna Ferber, Alice Childress, Rachel Crothers, Megan Terry, and many more.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950 - North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Research Source: Women's Studies - This Research Source module includes the following collections: Aristocratic Women; Colonial Discourses; International Women's Suffrage; Women, Education and Literature; Women, Emancipation and Literature; Women, Morality and Advice Literature; Women, Suffrage and Politics; Women, Writing and Travel; Women's Autobiographies; Women's Journals of the Nineteenth Century; Women's Suffrage and Government Control, 1906-1922; and, Women's Suffrage Collection.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Era - Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes 60 volumes of poetry by 47 authors. Accompanying the texts are extensive bio-critical essays, specially written for the database by leading scholars in the field, as well as selected criticism from the critical bibliography compiled by the editors.
- Vogue Archive (1892-present) - A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
- Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000 - Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 91 document projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors. The scholar's edition also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Women Writers Online - Early modern women's writing including prose, poetry and drama by women. Sponsored and developed by Brown University.
- Women's Magazine Archives - An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and facilitates the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
- Women's Studies Archive - Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
Digital Transgender Archive - This archive is a collection of digitized historical materials, digital materials in general, and information on archival holdings across the world.
GLBT Historical Society Online Resources - The Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives and Special Collections of the GLBT Historical Society are among the largest and most extensive holdings in the world of materials pertaining to LGBTQIA+ people.
Global Feminisms Project (University of Michigan) - The Global Feminisms Project (GFP) collects interviews with women’s movement activists and women’s studies scholars in sites around the world. The archive includes interviews with women from Brazil, China, Germany, India, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Poland, Russia, and the United States.
Lesbian Herstory Archives - The Lesbian Herstory Archives is a collection, based in Brooklyn, of archives related to lesbians and their lives. A portion of their archival content, including personal papers, buttons, photographs, and more have been digitized.
LGBT Activist Collections - A collection of documents from the civil rights movement for LGBTQIA+ people consisting of photographs, posters, artwork and ephemera from the New York Public Library.
LGBT Community Center National History Archive - Community-based archive that collects, preserves and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ lives and organizations centered in and around New York.
LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory - The LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory connects archives across Canada and the U.S. to produce a digital history hub for the research and study of gay, lesbian, queer, and trans* oral histories.
National Archives and Records Administration: Women's History - A guide to researching women's history through the United States National Archives. Subjects include African-American women, families and children, suffrage, temperance, women in the military, and other subject areas related to women's history.
ONE Archives (University of Southern California Libraries) - The largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers.
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture (Duke University) - Collections include primary source materials from the Women's Liberation Movement, African-American Women, and Civil War Women.
Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive (Library of Congress) - The Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality
Women of Protest: Photographs of The National Women's Party (Library of Congress) - This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.
Women Working (1870-1930) (Library of Congress) - The collection is an exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. It includes 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs.