Political Science

Navigate library resources for research in political science, international relations, government studies and more.

Finding Books

Search Catalyst for books in the library collection, using keywords such as "state government," "handbook state politics," "local government Maryland".  Or a more precise search could be a subject search on "State government - United States". 

If you need an overview of state government and politics, we have some introductory books available. Here are some samples: 

Guide to State Politics and Policy by Richard G. Niemi; Joshua J. Dyck (2014)
The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government by Donald P. Haider-Markel (Editor) (2014)

Finding Documents

LexisNexis State Capital
LexisNexis State Capital is a database of the United States 50 states’ laws and regulations. One can search for the status or text of bills and find state statutes or find summaries of state laws. Also, there are summaries of regulations and searchable full-text of regulations. In addition, there is information about state legislators, their staffs and state offices. Material on state-specific issues can be found in the State Net Capitol Journal, NCSL LegisBriefs, NCSL State Legislatures Magazine, NCSL State Legislative Reports, and the State Newspapers of Record.

National Conference of State Legislatures
NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

Council of State Governments Knowledge Center
Data and reports from the CSG organized by policy issue.

Book of the States Online
Comparisons for states and territories with tables, charts and figures illustrating how state government operates. It also includes more than 30 articles from state leaders, innovative thinkers, noted scholars and CSG’s in-house policy experts that analyze and report on the transformations taking place in state government.

Finding Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides general demographic data of federal government, state and local, and international level. Search abstract allows uses to search the abstracts of statistical publications from business and federal and state government. This search engine provides outcomes based on keywords that users input. UM users only.

State and Local Government Finances and Employment
From the Census Bureau's Statistical Abstract of the United States. Provides data on revenues, expenditures, debt, and employment of state and local governments.

Sage Stats
A collection of data measures that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Federal, State and Local Government
It is a part of The Census Bureau’s statistical databases. It provides 2012 Census of Government, government employment and payroll, Government Finance Statistics, federal spending on selected programs, annual/quarterly survey of tax revenue for state and local governments, list and structure of governments from 1992 and on. It also provides Criminal Justice Statistics, Elementary-Secondary Education Statistics, and Library Statistics.

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Sources include: U.S. government sources such as the census, Department of Labor statistics, FBI, and National Climatic Data Center; Mediamark Research Inc (MRI) Consumer Survey, EASI Analytic Life Stages, EASI Health Care, Nielsen PRIZM Consumer Buying Power, Nielsen Retail Market Power; and Nielsen Financial CLOUT datasets.

Finding Historical Sources

Library Newspapers Collection
A list of databases of newspapers, both historical and current, in the library collection. 

Ancestry Library
Ancestry Library lets you search public records for your biographical or genealogical research. Records from the US census, military, immigration, and vital records are available. While records are available from all continents, the focus of the collection is on North America and Europe. Off-campus access is limited to students and faculty only.