Political Science

Navigate library resources for research in political science, international relations, government studies and more.

Legislative Branch

Proquest Congressional: includes congressional publications such as bills and laws, legislative history, hearings, CRS reports and more.

GovInfo.gov: official site of Government Printing Office that serves as a digital repository for government documents from all three branches.

Catalog of US Government Publications (CGP): official catalog of all US government publications with links to full texts when online editions available.

Judicial Branch

WestlawNext: a legal research database that includes federal and state cases, laws, rules and regulations.

LexisNexis Academic: includes hundreds of law journals and federal and state cases.

US Supreme Court Collection : includes historical and up to date court decisions and commentaries.

Declassified Documents

Digital National Security Archive
 Includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Declassified diplomatic papers from Abraham Lincoln to Ronald Reagan, arranged by Presidential administrations. 

US Declassified Documents Online
Compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

Declassified Documents Online: Twentieth Century British Intelligence
This resource consists of documents from five UK government departments: Security Service (MI5); The Ministry of Defence: Communications and Intelligence Records; The Special Operations Executive; The Colonial Office: Intelligence and Security Departments; and, The Cabinet Office (CAB).

Politics: Background and Context

CQ Press Library
This is the homepage for a series of databases focusing on American government. The collection includes original content, current information, statistics, analysis, and comprehensive coverage in a range of government-related topics. Below are some of the databses: