Museum Studies -- AAP
Journals Selected By Museum Studies Faculty
Go to our database, Ulrich's
- Type the journal TITLE in as a phrase; that is, surrounded by quotation marks
- In the list, click on the journal title.
- If the journal is peer-reviewed (they called it “refereed,” like in sports), you will see a little black icon (mouse over it and it will say "Refereed")
- Can also click on the record and look for the Abstracting & Indexing Tab to see what databases cover this title and the years covered.
The A-Z tab includes journals of significance in the Museum Studies field that are available from the library's resources or on the open Web. Many of these publications were listed in a seminal article by Douglass A. Bassett (1992) titled "Museum Publications: A Descriptive and Bibliographic Guide." Bassett's article is available in John M.A. Thompson's (editor) Manual of Curatorship (pp. 590-622).
The following article also gives insight to the state of the journal literature in the Museum Studies field. East, John W. (2008). Searching the Museum Studies Journal Literature. Curator v. 51 no. 3 (July 2008) p. 311-17. [Note, may need your JHED information to retrieve]
Teasdale, R. M., & Fruin, C. (2017). The Museum Studies Literature: Revisiting Traditional Methods of Discovery and Access, Exploring Alternatives, and Leveraging Open Access to Advance the Field. Curator: The Museum Journal, 60(4), 489-503. [Note, you may need your JHED information to retrieve]
For many journals, the library's FindIt tool will help you locate full-text, if available in JHU library holdings. It will also point you to the interlibrary loan request form, a service that locates articles in other libraries and delivers them to your inbox at no charge to you, if full-text is not available in JHU holdings.
If the title is in the JHU collection, click the title for more information about indexing and availability of the full-text. For some titles not in the JHU collection, there is indication of the database that indexes the title. Click on the 'Research Tools" tab on rhe left menu and choose articles to search the recommended databases.