You might also like
Research Tools
Here are selected databases to find scholarly articles on various topics. Please scroll down to see the topics. If your topic is not listed and/or to see more databases by topic, please browse our databases by subject page.
There are times when newspapers are appropriate. See a selection of newspapers below.
It is ok to search Google Scholar. Please be certain to configure Google Scholar to work with our library subscriptions. Configuring Google Scholar helps you avoid hitting a paywall for articles. The Google Scholar box on the library's homepage, is already preconfigured for your use.
See the full research guide for Newspapers for historical and international papers.
Books
Search for books using our online catalog, Catalyst. Catalyst contains physical books as well as e-books.
When searching Catalyst,
- Keep it simple or for more complex searches use the advanced search feature.
- In your search results, be certain to check the subject headings assigned to books that seem relevant. Using a consistent subject heading will lead you to more relevant books.
- Refine your search to filter your results by format to limit to online.
- Books can be requested for home delivery.
- Consider using interlibrary loan to request a chapter from a print book.
- If you are outside of Maryland, email us to learn what privileges may be available from Universities in your state,
- If you live near our "Borrow Direct" partner Universities, you have borrowing privileges,
-
Eligible JHU students, faculty, and staff may register for on-site borrowing privileges at these Borrow Direct institutions:
- Brown University
- University of Chicago
- Columbia University
- Cornell University
- Dartmouth College
- Duke University
- Harvard University
- Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- University of Pennsylvania
- Princeton University
- Yale University
-
To do this, you must show your JHU ID and login to your BorrowDirect account. (Borrowing Library will show you how)
-
Once the institution authenticates you, they will give you a library card
- Borrowing privileges vary by institution, so please review individual library polices before your visit Borrowed items may be returned at either the lending library or JHU
Here are selected museum websites to explore. This list is not complete or comprehensive; we have included a range of museums in the US and around the world that have a significant digital presence and a strong online collection database.
The American Association of Museum site features a list of accredited museums. Only includes Museums in the U.S.
Use Google Arts & Culture to "Step inside must-see museums around the world." This link takes you to the street view for a spectacular tour of top museums.
Large collection of original Ancient Greek art and history
One of the world's preeminent scientific and cultural institutions, the museum works to discover, interpret and disseminate information about human cultures, the natural world and the universe through scientific research, education and exhibition.
The second oldest, and one of the most influential children’s museums in the world
An interactive experience through time, continents abd cultures, featuring some of the most fascinating objects in human history.
Public learning laboratory exploring the world through science, art, and human perception
An educational institution concerned with the diversity and relationships in nature and among cultures, providing collection-based research and learning for greater public understanding and appreciation of the world in which we live.
In the spirit of inquiry and discovery embodied by Benjamin Franklin, the mission of the Institute is to inspire a passion for learning about science and technology.
The flagship destination of the J. Paul Getty Trust, comprises museums, educational centers, and research institutes covering all areas of art and art history.
While not a museum, you can explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute. Founded in 2011, the Google Cultural Institute is a not-for-profit initiative that partners with cultural organizations to bring the world’s cultural heritage online.
Located in Vienna, with rich holdings comprising artworks from seven millennia - from Ancient Egypt to the late 18th century. The collections of Renaissance and Baroque art are of particular importance.
Heir to the century of the Enlightenment and the French Revolution, the Louvre was quickly accepted as the "museum among museums;" and since then it has remained a model and a recognized authority.
A cultural beacon that brings different cultures together to shine a new light on the shared stories of humanity
A worldwide leader in collecting, preserving, studying, exhibiting, and stimulating appreciation for and advance knowledge of art that represents the broadest spectrum of human achievement at the highest level of quality.
Based in Boston, MA, the Museum's mission is to play a leading role in transforming the nation's relationship with science and technology.
A national and world leader in preserving, collecting, exhibiting, and fostering the understanding of works of art, at the highest possible museum and scholarly standards.
Strong Digital Archives
A representative overview of Dutch art and history from the Middle Ages onwards, and of major aspects of European and Asian art
As a large museum of ancient Chinese art, the Shanghai Museum boasts a collection of 140,000 precious relics, featuring bronzes, ceramics, paintings and calligraphy
The world's largest museum and research complex: 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoo, and nine research facilities.
Mission is to increase the public’s enjoyment and understanding of British art from the 16th century to the present day and of international modern and contemporary art. The site contains a useful index of art/artists
The world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity
Houses the extensive collections of art, archeology and ethno-anthropology gathered by the Popes over the centuries, and contains some of the Apostolic Palace’s most extraordinary and artistically significant rooms.
Use this tab to find a selection of digitized archives and special collections. This list is not complete or comprehensive; it highlights some of the larger online digital archives. Whether you are researching particular documents or researching digitization strategies, you can use this list to discover how some leading institutions are approaching digitizing their archives.
-
ArchiveGrid
A database for locating special collections worldwide. Search for family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records. ArchiveGrid provides direct search access and comprehensive collection descriptions written by archivists. Locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies. Over 2,500 libraries, museums, and archives worldwide contribute collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. -
Archives of American Art
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
The digital collection covers 15 centuries of digitized artwork and manuscripts, archived British newspapers, and maps from around the globe.
-
Europeana Collections
"Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections." -
Gallica
The digital library of the national library of France. Online since 1997, Gallica now has over 5 million digitized documents ranging from books to photographs to maps to newspapers to auction catalogues.
Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more including newspaper articles, exhibition catalogues, and original source material
-
Library of Congress Digital Collection
A vast collection of primary source materials chronicling the history and culture of the United States. -
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Known for keeping America's Founding Documents, NARA has textual records; maps, charts, architectural and engineering drawings; still photographs and graphics; aerial photographs; reels of motion picture film; video sound recordings and more.
-
New York Public Library Digital Collections
The New York Public Library Digital Collections contains over 800,000 items. Browse the collection to get a better sense of the full range of materials. -
Online Archive of California
Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses
The Library does not subscribe to any current source for art and heritage auction information. However, limited auction data is available at the websites below for free; more current or complete information can be acquired if you personally subscribe to these services.
It's possible that articles in journals and trade publications may have some auction information. So, you may wish to search Art Full Text to see if articles have been published on the object you're researching.
Invaluable (formerly ArtFact) provides an extensive list of auction houses in the U.S. and abroad in addition to listings for current auctions.