Skip to content
Johns Hopkins Sheridan Libraries
Help & Support
Libraries & Hours
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
Brody Learning Commons
The Sheridan Libraries
Enter Search Words
Explore research tools that support the study of ancient Greece and Rome
Latin / Roman
Current Periodicals of Interest to Classicists at JHU
General Classics Research Tools
Explore this extensive list of various general resources in the field of Classics Studies.
Search this index to find scholarly work related to the language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome.
Search this archive of full-text scholarly journals spanning a number of disciplines.
Loeb Classical Library
Search this digital version of Classical texts; also in printed format in Classics Reference and in the circulating collection.
New Pauly & Pauly Supplements
Explore the English edition of the authoritative
Der Neue Pauly
and the monographic supplement series.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
Discover this reliable source of general information and lengthy bibliography on a wide array of topics concerning the ancient world.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd Edition
Use this standard dictionary online via Past Masters.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th Edition
Use this edition of the standard dictionary in the field via Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies
Access many of Oxford's current titles about Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History.
Perseus Digital Library
Search many primary texts and complete works written by several authors of ancient Greece and Rome.
Search the online catalog of the libraries of the Deutschen Archaeologischen Institut.
Dickinson Collection Commentaries
Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, interpretive essays, vocabulary, and multimedia elements.
Access the catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome for bibliography in classical archaeology, including books, Festschrift, journals, and collected works on antiquities, art, and archaeology of the Mediterranean world.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Diogenes Software Download
A tool for searching and browsing the databases of ancient texts, primarily in Latin and Greek, that are published by the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae and the Packard Humanities Institute.
Electronic version of the most recent portion of Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, with some full text and abstracts.
A complement to the printed
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae
APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System
A collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials located in collections around the world.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
BMCR publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies; this site is the authoritative archive from 1990 to the present.
Cambridge Companions Online
Open Greek & Latin
An international collaboration committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software.
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields (description from site).
Latin / Roman >>
Dec 7, 2023 9:31 AM
Login to LibApps
Anthropology and Archaeology
Arts, Visual and Performing