News and Newspapers
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- News and Newspapers
- Current News
Find current and historical news and newspapers from around the globe.
Get Help
New!!! The Washington Post Digital Edition
The Libraries have purchased a digital subscription to the Washington Post!
Registration Instructions
Follow these directions to create a personal account using your Hopkins email address:
- Click on Sign In to create an account
- Use your JHU email address and create your own password
- Verify your email via a link sent to your email account
If you have an existing personal subscription linked to your JHU email address, you will need to cancel your personal subscription before activating the JHU-supported campus subscription.
News Sources via JH Libraries
Most of the newspapers and journals that Johns Hopkins subscribes to are available to students, faculty and staff through platforms like ProQuest or Nexis Uni (see News Collections below). Use the Catalyst Journal / Newspaper title search to find specific JH Libraries newspaper and journal subscriptions.
News Sites
Johns Hopkins has access to the "dot com" website version of these major news sites:
- The Baltimore BannerThe Baltimore Banner is focused on news about Baltimore and surrounding counties. First-time users must register with for a free personal account, using your Hopkins email address in the jhed@jh.edu format.
- New York Times Digital EditionJH affiliates can register for free NYT content . This version works with desktop computers, tablets, mobile devices and the NYT app. Details on canceling a prior personal account can be found under Tips and Troubleshooting. Note also that the Hopkins digital edition does not include Cooking, Games or Wirecutter content.
- Financial Times Digital Subscription (FT.com)First time users must complete the "add your details" section of the login form during registration.
- Wall Street Journal Digital EditionThis digitized edition of the financial newspaper offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance and news. It has a 4-year rolling archive. Limited to current Hopkins affiliates who registered for personal accounts through this designated link using their JHU e-mail addresses.
- Washington Post Digital EditionRegister for a personal account using your jh.edu address to access.
News Collections
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni contains the full text of thousands of publications, including law journals, wire services, country economic reports, government publications, magazines, newspapers, news digests, and industry-specific newsletters and periodicals. Note that Nexis does not contain images or graphics, just text.
- Spotlight News USSpotlight is a news application for college students with more than 200 content partners ranging from college newspapers to national and international publishers. Includes the Johns Hopkins News-Letter and over 100 other college newspapers, as well as cryptocurrency information. Spotlight News is available on the Web and on a mobile app.
- Proquest International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to recent news content outside of the U.S. and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades. Coverage includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to U.S. news content, often going back to the 1980s. Includes over 1300 U.S. news sources, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Los Angeles Times.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to historical news content, going back as far as the 19th century. Includes The New York Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, Wall St. Journal, Guardian UK, and more.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowLocal, regional, national and international news, with over 17,000 sources, Includes newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Access World News also has a feature that allows you to refine searches to a specific world region or country.
- PressReader.com This link opens in a new windowNewspapers from around the world, arranged by country, with the latest 60 days only. Also includes tabloids and some magazines. PressReader is unique in that the papers look the same as the print versions.
Addtional Core Newspapers
- Washington Post (1996-Current)Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists. Ful-text articles from Dec. 1996 - present.
- Baltimore Sun (1990-Present)Full text access to the Baltimore Sun since 1990.