The Sheridan Libraries

ORCID

Use ORCID to uniquely identify you as a researcher

How to build your ORCID and keep it updated

Throughout this page, you’ll notice we are differentiating between the following types of tasks:


•    Tasks that input your existing (past) works into your ORCID record.
•    Tasks that ensure your ORCID record stays updated with new works as they are created.


Depending on the tools you select, the workflows may be the same or different for each type of task. Below, we’ve outlined how to do both of these tasks for the major types of scholarly works.

Basic ORCID How-To's

ORCID needs to know your basic information to identify you as a unique scholar. 

Some tips:

  • Email addresses: If you change institutions, it is valuable to have more than one email associated to your ORCID record. It is best to add multiple e-mails if possible. In case you lose access to your institutional account, this will make it easier to recover. 
  • Biography: You have 5000 characters to describe your interests, but it can also be very brief. If you do not want the Biography section to populate your Personal Statement, you can change the visibility to private. This will remove this part of the section from your public ORCID record and make it inaccessible to other systems, unless they are among your trusted parties. Note for NIH-funded users: the information you write into the Biography section of your ORCID record will automatically populate into your NIH Biosketch Personal Statement. 
  • Also known as: You can also add alternative spellings or iterations of your name. If you have changed names, this would be the place to add those alternative names. You can also set the privacy on this part of your ORCID so alternate names are not publicly visible. 

Trusted Organizations: Tools to help you build and update your ORCID

Setting up Trusted Organizations within ORCID allows publishers and funders to input, and (in some cases) update, your ORCID information. Allowing Trusted Organizations to add items to your ORCID means you now have easily shareable information that is authoritative and trustworthy, and saves you time.


In order to make auto-population of your ORCID possible, be sure to always provide your ORCID when submitting publications, depositing your work into a repository, completing funding applications, and doing other scholarly activities, so these third-party Trusted Organizations can identify the correct ORCID record.


Remember, allowing Trusted Organizations to auto-update your ORCID is not required, but is a handy way to utilize the power of the ORCID system. Don’t worry: you can revoke permissions to any Trusted Organization later if you change your mind.

ORCID Trusted Organizations

The most useful way to utilize a Trusted Organization with ORCID is with one of the source-agnostic metadata databases that track the important components of a researcher’s scholarly contributions. Crossref, DimensionsWizard, Web of Science, and DataCite are organizations that collect scholarly contributions metadata from many sources, and can connect that data to your ORCID—if you grant permission. ORCID is the hub of this multifaceted system—the connector that links all of your contributions to you.


Specific publishers and institutions like Johns Hopkins can also be Trusted Organizations; linking your ORCID to these entities can also assist you with sharing vetted, useful data about publications, affiliations, and more.


Some Trusted Organizations want read-only access to your ORCID, in order to correctly identify your record. Other Trusted Organizations want both read- and write-access to your ORCID record, so they can help you keep your ORCID record updated continuously and automatically.
 

How to connect to available Trusted Organizations

How to see your Trusted Organizations 

 

•    After logging into your ORCID, click on your name at the top of the page.
•    Click on Trusted Parties
•    You will see a list of Trusted Organizations and Trusted Individuals to whom you have granted permission.

 

How to tell which Trusted Organization added an information item to your ORCID record

The "Source" field in an ORCID record is automated and cannot be modified by a user. The source field will say what Trusted Party added data to your record. Only Trusted Parties that have permission to write into your record can do so, and you can modify permissions and privacy settings at any time.


Below is an example of a trusted organization, American Heart Association, writing directly into a grant recipient's ORCID record.
 

An example of a trusted organization writing directly into a grant recipient's ORCID record

No matter your role on a research team, you are eligible to register for an ORCID iD. If you are responsible for managing the ORCID records of a group of researchers, you will need your own, so that they can find you in the system and add you as a trusted individual. 

To grant access to a trusted individual, go to Trusted parties, then Trusted individuals from your profile page. In the search box, enter the ORCID iD, email address, or name of the person, then click Search ORCID for trusted individuals. Confirm the name and then click + Add as trusted individual.

Screenshot: how to add a Trusted Individual

Recommended Trusted Organizations for JHU Researchers

Adding all your publications? Here's our first recommendation: CrossRef

Crossref is the largest database of persistent digital identifiers for publications—it holds metadata and DOIs for scholarly publications from most publishers. You can use Crossref to import and automatically update your ORCID record for any publications appearing in their database.


How to use Crossref to do a one-time-only export of your existing (past) works into your ORCID record
•    After logging into your ORCID, scroll down to the Works section and click the Add button on the green bar.
•    Click Search & Link.
•    In the pop-up window, under Available Search & Link wizards, click Crossref Metadata Search.
•    Click Authorize Access button.
•    The interface will bring you to Crossref—follow the prompts and search for your name.
•    Click the Add to ORCID button next to your publications in the results list 


Caveat #1: this will only work if your publications have been submitted to Crossref by the publisher. Some may not be there!


Caveat #2: this will only work if the DOI is associated with your ORCID. If not, you may wish to try Web of Science to do a one-time import of works associated with your name or Web of Science ResearcherID.


How to set up Crossref to auto-update your ORCID with future works associated with your ORCID iD
To set up auto-update, include your ORCID iD when submitting your next publication. Once Crossref receives the metadata for your article, including the DOI and your ORCID iD, Crossref will send your ORCID inbox a message requesting permission to update your record. After you grant permission within ORCID, going forward, all articles with a DOI containing your ORCID iD—submitted by any publisher—will automatically be added to your ORCID.
 

Adding all your publications? Here's our second recommendation: Web of Science

Web of Science (WoS) is another large database of scholarly publications from many publishers, although it is not as comprehensive as Crossref.

You can use WoS to import and automatically update your ORCID profile for any publications appearing in their database. 

How to use WoS to do an export of your existing (past) works, and set up auto-update to populate your ORCID with future works associated with your ORCID ID
Information exported includes both publications and peer-review activities (if available).


•    Login to your WoS ResearcherID profile. If you do not yet have a ResearcherID Profile, follow instructions here. 
•    Once you have set up your WoS ResearcherID profile, open the left-side menu, click Profile, and then click Edit:
 Screenshot: how to edit WoS Profile
•    Click the ORCID Syncing tab
•    Click the CONNECT YOUR ORCID ID button
•    Login to ORCID
•    Authorize access for Web of Science to Add/update your research activities by clicking the Authorize access button.
•    Web of Science should return you to your profile settings, ORCID Syncing tab again. On this tab, set the following settings to On:

Screenshot: how to sync ORCID and WoS

Once you have completed these steps, WoS will sync both directions, ensuring your WoS ResearcherID and ORCID record are both up-to-date.
 

Adding all your publications? Here are some other optional tools...

If your publications are not well-represented in Crossref or WoS, you can use one of these other database tools to create a one-time import of your publications into your ORCID. Consider selecting the database tool(s) that cover your field most comprehensively. 

If your publications are in PubMed Central, select Add PubMed ID, and enter the PMID. Your work will automatically be added to ORCID.

If your publications are in Google Scholar, you can export a bibtex file of your citation and import it to your ORCID. See instructions here.

Note: these tools do not provide auto-updates of future publications into ORCID at this time, they are still easier than adding publications manually. You can check back periodically and do additional exports.

If you have records that are not accessible via other systems, you can manually enter a record by typing directly into the fields.

To make sure all your funders are linked to your ORCID profile, use DimensionsWizard.

•    After logging into your ORCID, scroll down to Funding and click the Add button on the green bar.
•    Click Search & Link.
•    In the pop-up window, under Available Search & Link wizards, click DimensionsWizard.
•    Click Authorize Access button.
•    Use your name to search for your grants and click Find by name.
•    Follow the prompts to identify your existing funding in DimensionsWizard.

Note: DimensionsWizard does not provide auto-updates of future funding into ORCID at this time, but you can check back periodically and do additional exports.

Do you have data sets you want to link to your ORCID? Use DataCite!

How to use DataCite to claim existing (past) works into your ORCID profile:
•    Go to DataCite Commons and sign in with ORCID.
•    Search and find your works.
•    Click Claim DOI button for each of your works.

How to set up DataCite to auto-update your ORCID with future works associated with your ORCID ID:
•    After logging into your ORCID, scroll down to Works and click the Add button on the green bar.
•    Click Search & Link.
•    In the pop-up window, under Available Search & Link wizards, click DataCite.
•    Click Authorize Access button.
•    The interface will bring you to DataCite—login to your profile.
•    Click the Get ORCID Token button in your settings. 

Note: the auto-update process in DataCite does NOT find and claim existing works, only future works associated with your ORCID ID. To find existing works, follow the claim existing (past) works workflow above.
 

  • Last Updated: Feb 26, 2024 4:52 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.jhu.edu/orcid
  • Print Page