Science and Medical Writing
Explore key resources for writers in the science and medical fields.
When You Need Articles
- PubMedPubMed lists journal articles back to 1947. It indexes about 5,400 journals and covers the areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas.
- ScopusScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database. Scopus also allows for citation searching back to 1996.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science actually lets you search science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities journals for articles on a topic. You can also do citation searching back to 1900.
- Science DatabaseProQuest Science Database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Whether you’re researching the effects of global warming or interested in the latest scandal surrounding genetically modified food, ProQuest Science Journals™ will guide you directly to the information you need.
- JSTORJSTOR is an archive of important scholarly journals, spanning many disciplines. The most recent 3-5 years are not included.
- Nexis UniContains the full text of hundreds of publications, including law journals, wire services, country economic reports, government publications, magazines, newspapers, news digests, and industry-specific newsletters and periodicals.
- PsycINFOThis database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
- Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
When searching in a database, look for a way to limit to Scholarly journals.
In many databases, look for a filter that will limit your search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles
If you need to confirm that a journal is scholarly, use Ulrich's to look up the name of the journal and confirm if it is scholarly or referred/peer reviewed. The video shows how Ulrich's works.
When you know what article you are seeking, try one of these approaches to see if we have an electronic version of the article.
- Use Google Scholar from the the library's homepage to paste in the title of the article. When you get results, use FINDIT to get the full text.
- Use our Article Lookup tool when you have a proper citation