A research guide covering resources and research tools in Classics
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2014
Our free trial of the Loeb Classical Library has begun. Please give it a try and send and feedback or questions to Donald Juedes.
- New Pauly & Pauly Supplements
English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly and the monographic supplement series.
- Jacoby Online
Revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker.
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
The SEG systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents.
Use Catalyst to find books and other research materials owned by the JHU libraries.
For a quick search in some general humanities databases from the EBSCO suite, try: Article Search in Catalyst.
For more in-depth coverage and advanced searching capacity, try the individual databases listed below.
For L'Année Philologique, you may need to consult this Abbreviations List for the journals' full titles.
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL)
Electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
- Classical Latin Texts: PHI
Also known as PHI Latin, this database contains virtually all classical Latin literary texts up to A.D.200.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (CVA) Online
An illustrated catalogue of more than 100,000 ancient vases, CVA is a central corpus for the field of ancient art and archaeology. Also in print: Eisenhower Classics Reference, NK4640.C6
- Loeb Classical Library
Only in printed format, we generally have at least 2 copies of each: one on Classics Reference and one in the circulating collection.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies
Provides access to many of Oxford's current titles about Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History.
- Perseus Digital Library
Includes many primary texts, complete works written by several classic authors.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Database of ancient Greek literature from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholastic texts from 600 to 1453 A.D.
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)
The online edition of the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters A–M, O, P–pomifer, porta–pulso), the articles in the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus.
- Diogenes Software Download
A tool for searching and browsing the databases of ancient texts, primarily in Latin and Greek, that are published by the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae and the Packard Humanities Institute.
Search inside books made available on the Internet; view or preview them online, then check to see if our library owns or has access to them.
This feature searches across many scholarly Internet sources.
To show links to JHU Library Resources within search results, change Google Preferences on your computer.
A combined catalog of the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide.
- Dissertations & Theses
An extensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.