Writing Seminars
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Writing Seminars
- Science Writing
Science Articles and Background Information
Find the subject that best fits your research area in our list of all databases by subject. Use the recommended "Core Databases" to search for articles within that field; you can learn more about each database by clicking on the circular blue "Information" icon next to its name.
Go to the "Background" section for relevant reference sources, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
Open Access
Open Access is a new model for publishing research, especially scientific research, in response to the high price of journal subscriptions. The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) lists resources on open access issues.
The Scholarly Communications LibGuide contains several pages about Open Access to help you locate publishers who support the free exchange of information.
Science Writing Guides and Handbooks
In addition to the titles below, you can find books in Catalyst using these subject headings:
Authorship — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Biology — Authorship.
Chemistry — Authorship.
Journalism — Authorship — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Life sciences — Authorship.
Medical writing — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Physical sciences — Authorship.
Technical writing — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- A Field Guide for Science WritersCall Number: T11.F52 2006
- The Guide to Science WritingCall Number: T11.H255 2003
- Handbook of Technical WritingCall Number: T11.A47 2009
- Scientific Writing: A Reader's and Writer's GuideCall Number: T11.L43 2007
Best Science Writing
There are several collections of award-winning or celebrated science writing, sometimes issued serially. In addition to the titles below, you can find books in Catalyst using these subject headings:
- The Best American Science WritingCall Number: Q162 .B42 2010
- The Best Science Writing OnlineCall Number: Q173.O64
- The Oxford Book of Modern Science WritingCall Number: Q171.O87 2008
Government Publications and Primary Sources
Government publications
- Official Web site for the government. Organized in subject categories.
- Legislative information from the Library of Congress. Bill summaries, floor activity, committee reports, treaties…
- Law libguide.
Primary sources & archives
- Do a Google search, using the word archive* plus a name or topic, to locate the repository for a particular archive. Some special collections have been digitized, like the Einstein Archives.
- Archives Grid can help you locate archival collections worldwide. Search for personal papers and historical records.
Google Books
- Track down a quote to see how it’s been treated in the literature, how it’s been quoted and misquoted. E.g., "God does not play dice."
- Find links between ideas, people, places that are not usually associated. E.g., quantum physics and art.