Bioethics

Find information about bioethics and related subjects.

Bioethics Information and Places

Bioethics Research Library of Georgetown University

  • Lists bioethics resources, databases, and much more, including databases from the National Information Resource on Ethics and Human Genetics, and International Bioethics Organizations.

Bioethics Information Resources

  • The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has assembled a collection of links to resources from governmental, educational, and other kinds pf organizations.

Eugenics

  • Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement -- Contains more than 2200 photographs, documents, and other images showing this era in America's past. The archive is one of the special collections maintained by Cold Spring Harbor, which was the site of the Eugenics Records Office from 1910 to 1940.
  • Sterilization and Social Justice Lab (U. Michigan) -- "Studying the history of sterilization in the U.S. Team includes historians, epidemiologists, and digital humanists. We explore patterns and experiences of eugenics and sterilization... We connect this history to reproductive, disability, and racial justice, as we reflect on the relevance of the past to social justice today." 

HIPAA Privacy Rule Dictionary
  • HIPAA is the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
  • This site also includes the text of the rule and related rules, and an FAQ.

Human Genome Project -- When the U.S. Government began the Human Genome Project (HGP), the Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH) devoted 3-5% of their annual HGP budgets to study the ethical, legal, and social issues (ELSI) about genetic information.

Office of Technology Assessment Reports
  • Between 1972 and 1995, the Office of Technology Assessment "provided Congressional members and committees with objective and authoritative analysis of the complex scientific and technical issues of the late 20th century."
  • You can search these reports by title, year, or topic

Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues

  • This is the group who "advises the President on bioethical issues that may emerge from advances in biomedicine and related areas of science and technology." Here is the current staff, FAQ, and more information

  • NOTE:  "As of January 15th, 2017,  this website will no longer be updated but continues to be available as an archive of the work of the 2009-2017 Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues."

World Health Organization -- Ethical Issues in Global Health
  • The WHO offers positions on some bioethics questions such as organ transplantation and planning for pandemics

This list of selected organizations is almost all U.S.-based, but there are many bioethics associations all over the world.

American Medical Association (AMA)

  • Put your search words into the search box at the top

American Psychological Association (APA) Ethics Office

  • The APA site includes the current edition (2003) of Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct and drafts of its proposed revision. There are also guidelines on the use of animals in psychological research.

American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics (ASLME)

  • ASLME publishes "The Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics" and "The American Journal of Law & Medicine." The society began in 1911 as a physicians' group, and gradually added the concepts of law and ethics to its name as the mission evolved. Currently, the group's main research areas are public health, health disparities, patient safety, and biomedical science.

Genetics & Public Policy Center -- This center was a three-year project funded by Pew Charitable Trust, based at Johns Hopkins. 

  • This archived site contains information about the research and analysis that was done for the purpose of helping "policy leaders, decision makers, and the public better understand and respond to...advances in genetics and their application to human health and well-being."

The Hastings Center -- This Center is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit bioethics research institute founded in 1969.

  • Look under "Publications" for the "Bioethics Briefing Book," which lays out the issues about many important topics.

The Hinxton Group

  • This group "facilitat[es] communication among scientists, policymakers, journal editors and the public about international scientific collaboration in the area of stem cell research"
  • The site includes the text of international policies concerning stem cell research
  • The group was begun in 2004 by members of the JHU Berman Bioethics Institute

Kennedy Institute of Ethics (Georgetown University) -- Established in 1971, the Institute publishes the Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal, and is the world's oldest and most comprehensive academic center for bioethics.

  • The Institute's library lists bioethics resources, databases, and much more, including the full text of government reports and other materials in the field.

PRIM&R (Public Responsibility in Medicine & Research -- An organization of professionals such as researchers, government representatives, ethicists, policy makers, pharmaceutical and biotechnology personnel, academics, and attorneys working in research ethics, human subject protections, and other areas of medicine and research.