News and Opinions
What's in the news? Where can you find the full text of the newspaper articles that tell you about a development in bioethics?
- This list has news sources that are American or international, current or historical
- Don't forget the business news -- look at the databases under CORE on this list of Business databases
Another source of news is the JHU Berman Bioethics Institute's bulletin.
What are people saying about the latest developments in science and their ethical implications?
To find out, you need to get to editorials, letters to the editor, and other sources of opinion.
- In PubMed, do your search, and then do this:
--- One of the Filters (on the left) is ARTICLE TYPE
--- However, to see all article types, scroll down to the bottom of the left column and choose "Additional Filters"
--- "Article Type" is the first one listed --> Check as many as you want, and your search will change with each one you add
- Use General Science Full Text, which includes news and editorials from Science, Nature, and New York Times Science Tuesday.
--- Go down to DOCUMENT TYPE
--- choose "Letter," "Letter to the Editor," or "Opinion"
- Pew is a "nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
- There are two lines of tabs across the top of the page that list topics, or you can use the search box.
Polling the Nations -- This is a database of polls that have the full text of "600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world."
- Scroll down to see more about what is covered.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research -- This is an archive of social science data, from the 1930s to the present.
- Most surveys are from national samples, with a few "state and local surveys, as well as a number of surveys of special populations of interest"
- Most data are from the United States, "but over 100 nations are represented"
- The Center focuses on "surveys conducted by the news media and commercial polling firms" but also "holds many academic surveys, including important historical collections from the National Opinion Research Center and Princeton University’s Office of Public Opinion Research"