Blog Contributors

Use this guide as a resource to create your library blog posts.

Types of Links

General Tips

Make lots and lots of meaningful, useful, fun links!

Links are great ways to:

  • expand the breadth of our readers' knowledge
  • answer questions that might be sparked by reading your post
  • showcase our research tools, possibly bringing them the to readers' attention for the first time!

Just remember to make sure links are proxied, so that our off-campus blog readers can gain access to the resources.

Different tools provide proxied links in different ways. Below are some examples.

Creating stable links

Most URLs generated in Catalyst are stable and can be used as links in blog posts. This includes URLs of individual records and of searches / search results lists. Simply copy and paste the URL in the address bar of your browser.

Please note that if you used the "Selected" folder, the link to that list is not stable at this time.

 

Examples:

Record for the book Johns Hopkins: Knowledge for the World

https://catalyst.library.jhu.edu/catalog/bib_2187708

Search for Films about Women in Japanese, sorted by date

https://catalyst.library.jhu.edu/catalog?utf8=%E2%9C%93&sort=pub_date_sort+desc%2C+title_sort+asc&suppress_spellcheck=1&f[format][]=Video%2FFilm&f[language_facet][]=Japanese&q=women&search_field=subject&suppress_spellcheck=1&utf8=%E2%9C%93

To link to an entire database, use its Databases@Johns Hopkins Libraries link. That will ensure it is proxied.

Making links to specific content within databases is a multi-step process:

  1. Find Stable URL for the database entry. This will vary dramatically among databases, so you need to look around. Usually the URL in the browser address bar is NOT a stable URL. See some samples below.
  2. Then, add the proxy address in front of the entry's stable URL. The proxy address is: http://proxy.library.jhu.edu/login?url=

 

Examples:

Stable URL at Bottom of Database Entry. Some databases put the persistent URL at the bottom of the documents within the database:

 

Stable URL in Designated Section. Other databases list the persistent URL in the in a "cite this" section or a section that explicitly states that it is a stable, permanent, or persistent URL. Each database is different, so you have to explore! Here are two such examples: