Advanced Online Research

The internet consists of approximately 4-5 billion websites. This guide is intended to help you navigate the visible internet in order to get the best of what it has to offer your research.

Lost in the Subsidiary Sites and Services

In addition to its powerful search engine, Google also provides a large number of services in subsidiary sites that can be used for your research. Check some of them out below!


books.google.com Looking for information about a book? Check out Google Books. While full-text options are not always available, samples give good insights into the content of a book.


scholar.google.com Google Scholar provides information about many academic articles. In some cases PDF full text is available. In others the “FIND IT @ JHU” link will direct researchers back to the JHU Library where the full text can be found. Google Scholar provides great tools for saving articles, using metrics, citations, alerts, and for finding related articles.

Google Scholar also allows researchers to search case law.


images.google.com Google Images is a simple way to look for images. Be sure to use the “Tools” menu to specify the details of the image you are after, and to ensure that images being searched are licensed for use. 


trends.google.com Google Trends allows researchers to look at what “trending” topics are currently capturing the imaginations of people around the world.


news.google.com Google News is a powerful, customizable news aggregator.


translate.google.com Google Translate provides translation services for approximately 114 languages. Researchers can translate individual words or phrases, full documents, or, by placing a URL in the translate window, full websites. It provides a variety of input methods including multilingual keyboards, or the ability to draw non-Western characters.


maps.google.com Google Maps is a very popular and powerful map tool.


google.com/earth Google Earth provides a different approach from its cousin Google Maps. Google Earth is a remarkably detailed globe and provides tools for mapping and storytelling.


datasetsearch.research.google.com Google Dataset Search allows researchers to discover datasets from a variety of sources.


google.com/publicdata/directory Much like Dataset Search, Google Public Data makes public datasets browsable for researchers.


Classroom.google.com Google Classroom is a free learning management system like BlackBoard or Instructure. It should not be used by instructors without JHU approval. Students, however, can use it to organize student groups and facilitate communication.


artsandculture.google.com Google Arts and Culture provides a wealth of immersive resources on art, architecture, and cultural treasures around the world.


mail.google.com Gmail is a very popular web-based email platform


drive.google.com Google Drive is a file storage, synchronization, and collaboration platform that hosts a number of powerful tools.


docs.google.com Google Docs is a cloud-based word processor hosted within the Google Drive Platform. Docs can also create and edit spreadsheets, presentations, interactive forms, drawings, and more.


sites.google.com Google Sites is a web-based site builder, assisting users to flesh out websites without a need for code.


code.google.com A central repository for Google Open Source code, APIs, and other projects that can be used by anyone. 


analytics.google.com Google Analytics tracks the views and usage of users’ Google-based websites, allowing users to optimize their sites for greater visibility.  


aboutme.google.com This site allows Google users to control what information about them can be accessed online. This is important for privacy and cybersecurity.  


myactivity.google.com Google tracks a great deal of data about its users. Users can see what that information consists of and control what is available at My Activity.


design.google For those interested in design, Google Design is a great resource for what is tools, news, and information about what is popular and cutting edge in the world of design and user interface.


opensource.google Mentioned above under Google Code, Google Open Source is home to over 2000 open source projects to develop new technologies and solutions to problems.


grow.google Grow with Google offers free training and tools to help users learn IT skills, code, business and marketing skills, and more.


cloud.google.com Google Cloud provides an online platform for storing, testing, and analyzing data. 


skillshop.withgoogle.com A training platform to help users develop skills and understanding of Google products that can be integrated into their work. 


firebase.google.com An online sandbox for building and improving apps


marketingplatform.google.com and thinkwithgoogle.com These services provide tools for marketing for everyone from start-ups and small businesses seeking to scale up, to large businesses looking to grow.


google.com/flights A powerful tool in making travel plans and tracking flight costs.