Performing the Archive
Research Guide for the Spring 2022 course Performing the Archive: 200 Years of US-Liberia Migration (AS.362.309) of Dr. Jasmine Blanks Jones
Combined Search Databases
- Black Studies CenterProQuest Black Studies Center provides access to historical newspapers and primary source documents, as well as secondary sources, on the Black experience in the United States.
- American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian SocietyThis collection from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Early periodicals in the collection focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution. Common themes depicted in antebellum periodicals reveal a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, western expansion, and regional political differences were a daily reality for many Americans. The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented, documenting the conflict and its aftermath from a variety of perspectives and allowing readers to bear witness to this pivotal period in American history. Early twentieth century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections from Ebsco are in 5 modules organized by date. You are able to search them simultaneously by using the "Choose Databases link" at the top of the search page and manually selecting all of them on the list. Otherwise, please select from the individual databases:
- Samuel J. May anti-slavery collectionNumbering over 10,000 titles, May's pamphlets document the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels. Much of the May Anti-Slavery Collection was considered ephemeral or fugitive, and many of these pamphlets remain scarce today. Sermons, position papers, offprints, local Anti-Slavery Society newsletters, speeches, poetry anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes all document the social and political implications of the abolitionist movement and the fight for equality and human rights.
- From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909Presents 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Primary Source Databases
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice (Adam Matthew)This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
- American History, 1493-1945 (Adam Matthew)This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History. Collections included are: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859, and Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
- History VaultAccess letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
- Europe and Africa, Colonialism and CultureFrom Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online