Performing the Archive
Research Guide for the Spring 2022 course Performing the Archive: 200 Years of US-Liberia Migration (AS.362.309) of Dr. Jasmine Blanks Jones
Librarian for History, History of Science & Technology, and Africana Studies
Resources at the Library
- History DatabasesThis is a list of databases for searching primary and secondary sources that are owned by JHU.
Other research guides:
American Colonization Society
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: Debates over Slavery and AbolitionOver 1.5 million cross-searchable pages of primary sources on transatlantic slavery and other scholarly publications.
Freedmen's Bureau Records
- Freedmen's Bureau Archives: This page at the National Archives described the collection.
- Freedmen's Bureau Digital Collection: The Smithsonian has digitized the microfilm.
Specific to Maryland:
These collections are primarily 20th century so they might be out of scope for this particular project, but you might want to know about:
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA). At the conclusion of the Slave Narrative project, a set of edited transcripts was assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. In 2000-2001, with major support from the Citigroup Foundation, the Library digitized the narratives from the microfilm edition and scanned from the originals 500 photographs, including more than 200 that had never been microfilmed or made publicly available. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs divisions of the Library of Congress.
- History Makers: the Nation's Largest African American Video Oral History CollectionHistory Makers picks up where the WPA interviews left off, as the largest oral history collection focusing on Black Americans in the 20th century.
HistoryMakers' is the nation’s largest African American video oral history archive. As a non-profit educational institution, the organization is committed to preserving, developing and providing easy access to an internationally recognized archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories which seeks to preserve and elevate the cultural equity of the African American community to the level of its historical record, as well as to increase the cultural understanding of present and future generations.