History of Science and Technology
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- History of Science and Technology
- FYS: Technology and Globalization (Fall 2023)
Other Guides
What is the Lean Library Access browser extension?
The Lean Library Access browser extension makes it simple to access academic articles, journals and databases licensed by your library, wherever you are and whenever you need it. Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get access.
- The Lean Library Access browser extension is free to all JHU users
- It is a browser extension that needs to be installed.
For help, look for the Troubleshooting and Tips link in the sidebar.
Privacy and Data Retention
For more information on Lean Library's privacy and data retention, please refer to their Privacy Policy and Privacy FAQ with the Lean Library extension.
Background Information
Before you dive into primary and secondary sources, make sure you have a little bit more background on your topic so you know what you're looking for. Look for general information about your topic, and important people, places and events connected to it. Start with the background resources below.
Cambridge Histories of Science Look through the Cambridge Histories online to get an overview of your research topic. You can browse the list of topics, or search for something specific.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology
- Science, Technology and Society
Oxford Handbooks Online: History Many volumes available to search, ranging chronologically from medieval times to the Cold War; regionally from the Americas to China; topically through race, religions, and gender to food; methodologically from oral history to environmental.
Core Databases
To find a list of core databases in the History of Science and Technology, please Browse by Subject in our Databases list. These are indexes that contain descriptions of both primary and secondary source materials.
]Primary Sources
- AM ExplorerA quick and convenient way to search all Adam Matthew digital archive collections at one time. Documents are generally sourced are from the National Archives, UK.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural ExchangeThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
- World's Fairs: A Global History of ExhibitionsPrimary source material from hundreds of fairs, including London’s Great Exhibition of 1851, American fairs of the 19th and 20th centuries and 21st century EXPOs.
- Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850This database provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineContent documents the long nineteenth century and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
- HathiTrustThe HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. Johns Hopkins University is a HathiTrust member, so we have access to the entire collection. You must login with your JHED login and password to have access to the entire site.
- ProQuest CongressionalAn index of U.S. congressional publications, with abstracts and links to full-text documents and related sites.
- StatistaData, statistics, outlooks, reports and survey results on countries, consumers and over 80,000 topics from Statista.com and other sources. Create account within using your university e-mail address to save or customize work.
Primary Source Periodicals
Digital Collections
- LIbrary of Congress Guide on GlobalizationThis resource guide is created to help users understand globalization, its history, the elements it comprises, and the current trends. It also provides resources for keeping current with the latest research on the subject for further exploration.
- Schenectady Museum -- Invention and Tech FilmsA selection of rare films on appliances, electric cars, transportation and more.
- Engineering and Technology History WikiOral histories and other materials related to various aspects of the history of technology, including aerospace, health and safety, and communications.
- Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)US Governments technical reports covering agriculture, mining and more.
- Transportation PhotographsAn ongoing database of over historical photographs of transportation in the Pacific Northwest region and Western United States including ships, railroads, aviation, automobiles and other motor vehicles.