This collection contains 1,819 photographs in 51 large-format albums date from about 1880 to 1893. They portray the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II and highlight the modernization of numerous aspects of the Ottoman Empire. [Text taken from the LOC description.]
The Eltaher Collection consists of more than 2,000 items in various formats, including books, pamphlets, photographs, personal correspondence, and newspaper clippings among other documents. The majority of the collection is in Arabic, with some in English [Text taken from the LOC description]. Of special interest would be the treatment of Palestine and the inclusion of approximately 100 Palestinian pamphlets.
A learned society for students and scholars of the Middle East. MESA announces events and opportunities for students and scholars. It also publishes multiple journals and stays at the forefront of developments in the Middle East Studies discipline.
The Omar Ibn Said Collection consists of 42 digitized documents in both English and Arabic, including an 1831 manuscript in Arabic on "The Life of Omar Ibn Said," a West African slave in America, which is the centerpiece of this unique collection of texts. Some of the manuscripts in this collection include texts in Arabic by another West African slave in Panama, and others from individuals located in West Africa. [Text taken from the LOC description.]
This collection grants insight into Islam as it existed among African slaves in the United States.
A snapshot of political parties, as well as their informal counterparts operating as Islamist political movements, will provide researchers with a means to understand the evolution of Islamic political parties and the political Islamists' messaging when more Islamic parties gain national prominence.
[Text taken from the LOC description.]
This seven-volume Qur’an was produced in Cairo for Rukn al-Dīn Baybars, who later became the Mamluk Sultan Baybars II. It is the earliest dated Qur’an from the Mamluk period [Text taken from the British Library].