Strategic Studies (SAIS)
Research and Information Content Librarian
Starting Points
- ProQuest All Databases This link opens in a new window100+ databases covering scholarly articles, dissertations, news, and more.
- Military BalanceA key source of data on the military strength of countries. Includes force levels, organization, and number and types of equipment. Also national and regional data on military expenditures and arms sales. Coverage 1961 - present.
- Strategic SurveyAn annual review of world affairs, with a focus on military and political developments. Coverage 1966 - 2022.
- Armed Conflict SurveyAnnual IISS overview of armed conflict in all regions of the world. Coverage 2015 - present.
- JSTOR Security Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowA broad look at security studies, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from around the world.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowScholarly bibliographies covering a wide range of subjects and types of sources, from books to document collections. Updated frequently by scholars in the field.
- BMI (formerly FitchConnect) This link opens in a new windowFor defense reports, enter a country name and choose "Crime, Defense, and Security" under Industry. On the results page, look for the latest Reports - usually on the right side of the screen. Note: Some countries will not have this particular report.
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new windowOffers market research and analysis covering a broad array of subject areas.
- Janes Online This link opens in a new windowNews and analysis on security and defense equipment / technology. Login with your Hopkins ID (example: x@jh.edu). Remember to logout (upper right of screen) when you are done.
- DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) This link opens in a new windowA resource for Department of Defense and other government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business research.
- Space Report This link opens in a new windowPublished quarterly by the Space Foundation, this provides an overview of the global space industry and activity.
- Aviation Week Intelligence NetworkCovers global commercial, defense, maintenance/repair/overhaul (MRO), space and business aviation communities.
- Catalyst - the JH Libraries CatalogSearch the Hopkins collections for books, articles, documents, digital media, etc.