The Sheridan Libraries

Strategic Studies (SAIS)

ProQuest All Databases This link opens in a new window
100+ databases covering scholarly articles, dissertations, news, and more.
JStor This link opens in a new window
Search full-text scholarly journals. Coverage for recent years is incomplete.
JSTOR Security Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
A broad look at security studies, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from around the world.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present,

EBSCOhost Databases
30+ multi-disciplinary databases covering scholarly journals, magazines and news.

Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a large linked research database, covering scholarly publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets, policy documents, and technical reports.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
International coverage (1951 to present) of social science periodical literature and some books.
CAIRN.info This link opens in a new window
Articles & books in the social sciences and humanities. Most are in French, although there are some English language articles available.

DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) This link opens in a new window
A resource for Department of Defense and other government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business research.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers information on security & counter-terrorism and helps inform the analysis process.
Janes Online This link opens in a new window
News and analysis on security and defense equipment / technology. Login with your Hopkins ID (example: x@jh.edu). Remember to logout (upper right of screen) when you are done.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
ProQuest Military Database This link opens in a new window
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
A subject index to significant articles, news items, book reviews and editorials from 63 English language military and aeronautical periodicals.

Aerospace Research Central (ARC) This link opens in a new window
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the premier provider of information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science.

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals covering business, economics, trade, finance and related fields
EconLit with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide economic literature (journal articles, book chapters, working papers and more).
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers business, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, economic, geopolitical market and current affairs research.

Cyber Security Intelligence
A news website covering topical issues on cybersecurity and intelligence, targeting senior general managers and specialists across the corporate & institutional sectors.

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS)
Comprehensive analysis of policy issues. Produced by CRS, a federal legislative branch located within the Library of Congress. Includes reports published since 2018. Older reports will be retrospectively added.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Foreign Policy.com This link opens in a new window
Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, international law, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
PAIS This link opens in a new window
Selective listing of journal articles, books and documents, with an emphasis on public-policy oriented literature.
World Politics Review This link opens in a new window
A daily, online publication for readers with an interest in international politics and foreign affairs.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Articles and some books. Although many results are technical papers, there are also some policy journals in Science Direct.
Scopus
Scopus covers the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as arts and humanities.
Aerospace Research Central (ARC) This link opens in a new window
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the premier provider of information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science.

Centre for Economic Policy Research Discussion Papers This link opens in a new window
Papers from a leading European research network in economics.

Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS)
Comprehensive analysis of policy issues. Produced by CRS, a federal legislative branch located within the Library of Congress. Includes reports published since 2018. Older reports will be retrospectively added.
Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS via ProQuest)
Select "CRS Reports" from options on left-hand side. Covers 1916 to present.

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
From the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Some articles and research papers on this site are available at no charge. Others are available for a fee, or via other JHU databases.