The Sheridan Libraries

Strategic Studies (SAIS)

Janes Online This link opens in a new window
News and analysis on security and defense equipment / technology. Login with your Hopkins ID (example: x@jh.edu). Remember to logout (upper right of screen) when you are done.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text US news, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Proquest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Fulltext news outside of the US and Canada, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and BBC.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text world-wide news source.

BBC Monitoring: International Reports
Provides news and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages. Included in Nexis UNI. Coverage: 2001-current.
Oryx
A Dutch open-source intelligence defence analysis website, and warfare research group, run by former members of Bellingcat.
War On The Rocks
Respected source for analysis and debate on strategy, defense, and foreign affairs.

Economist Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Note: First-time access requires creation of an individual account using your JHU email. After setup, you can login directly at economist.com, using Log in with SSO.
Financial Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Note: First-time access requires creation of an individual account using your JHU email. After setup, you can login directly at ft.com
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage of foreign news media
PressReader.com This link opens in a new window
Full image, includes tabloids and magazines. Arranged by country, latest 60 days only.

See the News and Newspapers guide for a more comprehensive listing of resources.

Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search New York Times, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Wall St. Journal, The Guardian UK, and more, back to the 19th century.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690 -1922) This link opens in a new window
Covering 1690 - 1922, this database present full PDF images of the papers. Includes newspapers of the United States and the Caribbean.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple primary document databases at one time, including Gale's historical newspaper collections.
19th Century Index (C19) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop finding tool covering multiple content types for 19th century research.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1950-1996 This link opens in a new window
English translations of radio and tv broadcasts and news articles worldwide. A valuable source for primary research. Articles from 1974-1996 are included.
World News Connection: 1995-2013 This link opens in a new window
Continuation of FBIS Daily Reports. Ceased publication Dec 31, 2013.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window
One of the world's most authoritative daily business newspapers.
Civil War : a Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
A database containing articles, images from maps, and illustrations from various newspapers. It begins with the 1860 presidential election and ends with Lincoln's burial.