Film and Media Studies
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Film and Media Studies
- Film Industry
Explore research tools in the fields of film, artistic media, and cinema
Magazines & Trade Journals
Explore these resources for popular magazines and trade journals related to the film and entertainment industry.
- Press Reader: Entertainment & TVAn excellent source for the full issues of thousands of top magazines and newspapers, just as they appear in print. Explore this subset of Press Reader focused on film, television, and entertainment.
- VarietyA key magazine for entertainment news, film reviews, awards, film festivals, box office, entertainment industry conferences. Partial coverage included in Press Reader, above.
- Hollywood ReporterAn important magazine that focuses on the Hollywood film, television, and entertainment industries. Partial coverage included in Press Reader, above.
- Box Office / Box Office ProA film industry magazine dedicated to the movie theatre business.
- Motion Picture Industry Journals at MSELExplore this complete list of library subscriptions to magazines and journals in the field.
- Articles in CatalystExplore materials linked here in Catalyst, our library online catalog. These articles cover film reviews themselves and research about the process of reviewing films. Once in that list of materials, you may narrow the results by adding other search terms.
Newspapers
Below are some of the more important newspapers related to the film and television industry; please also explore the complete list of newspapers available to you, as well.
- New York Times Digital EditionJH affiliates can register for free NYT content . This version works with desktop computers, tablets, mobile devices and the NYT app. Details on canceling a prior personal account can be found under Tips and Troubleshooting. Note also that the Hopkins digital edition does not include Cooking, Games or Wirecutter content.
Search for Articles
To explore current research about the film and entertainment industry, search in these indexes to key journals in film, business, and related fields.
- Film & Television Literature IndexThe first place to go for scholarly articles in the film, television, and entertainment fields.
- Academic Search UltimateExplore this scholarly index for journal articles in nearly every academic field of study.
- ProQuest Research LibraryA broad and inclusive general reference database that includes a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionCentral index to business periodicals covering business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
- Business Source UltimateAn important article database for scholarly, popular and trade publications in business, real estate and related topics complements the ABI/INFORM Collection (above) in coverage and format. Provides exclusive, full image access to Harvard Business Review magazine and other publications.
- JSTORSearch this archive of full-text scholarly journals spanning a number of disciplines.
Streaming Films
Streaming FilmsWatch important films in streaming format using the resources below.