The Sheridan Libraries

Primary Source Research in International Relations (SAIS)

Below are resources that are useful for finding archival collections generally in the U.S. and Europe:

Archive Grid This link opens in a new window
A database for locating special collections worldwide. Search for family and corporate histories, personal papers, and historical records.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world, including many full-text transcripts, audio, and video.

Europa World of Learning
Search by country for libraries and archives.
World Wide Diplomatic Archives Index
A guide to the accessibility of diplomatic archives around the world maintained by the Office of the Historian, Dept. of State.

NARA: U. S. National Archives and Records Administration
Click on "Research Our Records" to learn more about the holdings of the National Archives and how to access them.
Library of Congress Manuscript Reading Room
A major repository for the personal papers of famous U.S. citizens.
National Security Archive
Located at George Washington University' Gelman Library, this archive provides access to an important collection of declassified material.
ArchivesSpace
The database of record for all description of archival holdings in the Special Collections Dept. of the Johns Hopkins University Library.
German Historical Institute - Library
Located at 1607 New Hampshire Ave NW, the library has a collection of online German historical documents and German journals. Email info@ghi-dc.org for information about access.