The Sheridan Libraries

Primary Source Research in International Relations (SAIS)

Maps

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (Univ. of Texas)
A good source of digitized maps, including CIA maps.
Old Maps Online
A portal offering access to historical maps from the digitized collections of the British Library, Harvard, the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Map Collections

Map Vault This link opens in a new window
A collection of commercially owned geospatial maps comprising hundreds of series, and different themes. Includes the collection of Soviet Military Topographical Maps of the world.

David Rumsey Map Collection
Contains more than 150,000 maps that focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
Emerson Kent.com
Extensive collection of historical and current maps arranged by year and by continent.
George III's Collection of Military Maps
Collection comprises some 3,000 maps, views and prints ranging from 1532 to 1815.
National Geographic Map Machine
Create your own maps
MSE Library GIS and Maps Guide
A good source of maps and information about sources of maps.
Norman B. Leventhal Map Center
Part of the Boston Public Library, much of it's collection of 200,000 maps and 5,000 atlases is digitized.
Historic Map Works
Search or browse maps dating back centuries covering all parts of the globe.

There are many historical or subject specific atlases which have been published and are available for loan from library collections. Search WorldCat for your topic keyword and "Maps" as a subject keyword to discover those atlases.