Search millions of user-contributed images and media files.

A collection of images, video, and audio relating to the National Science Foundation's research in science and engineering.

A searchable database of NASA's multimedia collections, including images and videos of historical and contemporary subjects.

Includes portraits of scientists and images of labs, instruments, telescopes. objects, and more.

Images from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, a project that mapped a quarter of the sky over an eight year period.

A collection of photographs and graphics related to the U.S. Department of Energy's Genomics Programs.

Search for words in image captions using the PMC Advanced Search Builder. From the All Fields pull down menu, choose Figure/Table Caption.

Search the website for images and animations related to microbiology by clicking the "images only" box at the top right.

A collection of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service's public domain images relating to aquaculture, forestry, biology, environmental management, and more.

Plant, animal, and anatomical illustrations from the NYPL's historic collections.

A library of images of plants, animals, microorganisms, weather and environmental research from the National Biological Information Infrastructure.

Public domain images of parks, geological events, and mining.

A collection of downloadable public domain photos, maps, and illustrations produced by the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Includes image collections and great information relating to structural and earthquake engineering, hosted at the University of California, Berkeley. Only low-resolution images are freely available; higher resolution images are available via a $25/year individual subscription.

Historic images of civil and mechanic engineering, including cars, trucks, water and transit infrastructure, from the NYPL's collections.

A small but specialized image collection of microsystems.

Images of aircraft, engines, and other objects related to air and space travel.