Jewish Studies
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Jewish Studies
- Hebrew Language and Literature
Explore research options for Jewish history, Hebrew and Yiddish literature, Jewish philosophy and religion
Librarian
Find Books
Hebrew Literatureis broad and encompasses all time periods.
- Use Hebrew Literature, Modern as one possible limit. Or Israeli literature
- You can search for a writer or a theme as a SUBJECT.
- Ex.: Amos Oz
- Ex.: Animals in literature
- Ex.: Zionism in literature
- You can use the Language limit in a catalog search to limit to Hebrew or English results.
Find Articles
- The MLA International Bibliographythe best database to use to find articles and book chapters on Hebrew literature
- Oxford Bibliography in Jewish Studiesgood article and sources under "Literature, Modern Hebrew"
- Index to Jewish Periodicalsthe definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals.
- Kiryat SeferThe bibliography published by the National Library of Israel has now been digitized in full and made available free of charge.
Digital Texts and Tools
- Kotar LibraryA major repository for Hebrew language ebooks.
- Otzar HaHochmaOnline library of Judaic books, containing over 41,500 books (seforim). The database includes scanned books and manuscript encompassing all realms of Judaism, from ancient times to the modern period.
- Sefaria.orgExplore 3,000 years of Jewish texts in Hebrew and English translation.
- Hebrewbooks.orgHebrewbooks.org was founded in order to preserve old American Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation.
Dictionaries and Lexica
- Rav MilimRav-Milim's Hebrew dictionary, the printed version of which was published in Hebrew. It combines an innovative approach in lexicography, advanced knowledge in linguistics and up-to-date computer technology.
- LexilogosA portal for a variety of lexical resources for Modern Hebrew, including Milog
- Milon OnlineIncludes access to Milon Sapir.
- Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament OnlineThe Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament Online offers a complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, including texts in Aramaic. The alphabetical ordering of entries rather than the traditional arrangement of words according to their roots is particularly helpful to the new student, and also saves the advanced user much time. Offers full text search in Hebrew, Aramaic, Greek, English, transliterations and Scripture references, as well as conjugated verb forms. Specialist users will also find in-depth bibliographical information on Old Testament exegesis.
Search these reference collections
- For many authors there will be a volume in Cambridge Companions. Or cross search the entire archive.
- Oxford Scholarship Online is another cross-searchable database.
- LION has good basic information on writers.
- The e-texts portion of LION is English-language works.
- But the criticism and reference components treat writers of many nationalities.
- Artemis Literary Sources also has good basic information on writers.
- It will give overviews of works and critical articles on writers.
Books on D-level
Browsing the library shelvesThe main Hebrew Language and Literature collections are found on D-level at MSEL under the following call numbers:
* PT (White Label Section): Books on Hebrew language and literature, cataloged before 7/96
* PJ 4501-5192 (Blue Label Section): Books on Hebrew literature and language cataloged after 7/96.