The Sheridan Libraries

Jewish Studies

Explore research options for Jewish history, Hebrew and Yiddish literature, Jewish philosophy and religion

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Hutzler Reading Room, Gilman Hall

Research generally involves finding books and articles on your topic.
From there, you can mine the bibliographies and footnotes of what you've found.
Plus, investigate specialized resources, like rare books, manuscripts, primary sources, and images.

Journal Articles and Web Resources
There are many databases that index articles, book chapters, and other scholarship on Jewish Studies, depending on your discipline.

The complete list of library-licensed resources in Jewish Studies
indexes to articles, e-text archives, encyclopedias, dictionaries and e-journals
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Jewish Studies
RAMBI – Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (in Hebrew)
Index to Jewish Periodicals
the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals.
Google Books
now has the complete page images from thousands of books, most of them "old". Use the Advanced Search for more precision. Try searching on a phrase from the book you're looking for. Or keywords that will easily identify it.

Go beyond Hopkins
Use the databases below to find books and other materials not found at Hopkins. Request directly online.

WorldCat
Search all US and many European research libraries
BorrowDirect
Search and request books from the libraries of the Ivy League universities plus Chicago, Duke, MIT, and Stanford. Expect delivery in 3-5 days.

Because Jewish Studies is, by definition, a multi-disciplinary field, consult these subject guides for more in-depth help.