To search for primary source materials about Hopkins history, begin by searching ArchivesSpace, the library's repository of collection guides for university records and manuscript collections.

The history of Johns Hopkins University is documented in collections in the University Archives.  Some of the largest collections that cover a wide variety of topics include:

• The Records of the Office the President document the activities of Presidents Ira Remsen through William Richardson. Please note that administrative records created within the past twenty-five years are restricted.
• Daniel Coit Gilman Papers: a mixture of presidential and personal papers of our founding president.
• The Records of the Board of Trustees include the Minutes, 1870-present, and contain information on the details of our founding and growth. This collection includes an original copy of our Certificate of Incorporation, dated August 24, 1867.
• Student Organization Records are a solid resource for beginning your research into the history of student life on campus.
• The Johns Hopkins University Oral History Collection is a good start to access personal accounts of administrators, faculty, staff, and students about their experiences at Hopkins.

The papers of many early faculty members and presidents also contain a wealth of information on the founding and early years of growth of Hopkins, among them:

• Ira Remsen
• Frank J. Goodnow
• Joseph S. Ames
• Isaiah Bowman
• Herbert Baxter Adams
• Basil L. Gildersleeve
• Henry A. Rowland
• George Boas
• Arthur O. Lovejoy