Collections: Special Topics and Strengths
Important areas within Special Collection, with information on library resources and other research resources.
Curator of Modern European Collections
- The Sheridan Libraries collections include a wealth of material that bears witness to the birth and development of the avant-garde in art and literature, in original format in the Special Collections, as well as in reprint, facsimile, and microform in th
The collection include:
- Periodicals: ephemeral but valuable witnesses to the many avant-garde movements, and the intense cross-fertilizations among them.
- Books: often collaborations between artists and writers.
- Documents, tracts, and other ephemera, including a significant collection of Lettriste material.
- French Surrealism is a particular collection strength.
- Livres d'artiste: collaborations between artists and writers (often poets). Search the online catalog by writer and artist last name (Ex. eluard ernst)
- Primary literature: books by the major figures in the 20th century avant-garde:
Collections on the Web
- Modernist Journals ProjectEnglish-language modernist journals digitized.
- International Dada ArchiveIncludes books, articles, manuscripts, sound and videorecordings, and other media related to the Dada movement and to the individual dadaists.
- Revues Littéraires20th century French reviews
- Blue Mountain ProjectAn online archive of avant-garde journals, from Princeton. Pan and Ver sacrum currently available.
- LittératureBreton's important, and quite rare, surrealist periodical.
- Avant-Garde and Modernist Magazinesa digital archive and reference guide to magazines printed in the early decades of the 20th century
- Dada/Surrealisman interdisciplinary journal publishing critical essays, bibliographies, book reviews, and primary documents on the Dada and Surrealist movements
Informational Web Sites
- Surrealist artfrom the Pompidou Centre
- From Dada to SurrealismJewish Avant-Garde Artists from Romania, 1910-1938