Collections: Special Topics and Strengths
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Collections: Special Topics and Strengths
- Hinkes Collection
Important areas within Special Collection, with information on library resources and other research resources.
Scope of the Collection
 |
The Dr. Elliott and Eileen Hinkes Collection of Books of Scientific Discovery
You can browse the whole collection online, in the libraries' catalog. |
Highlights
- Atlas CoelestisPictured above. Includes competing views of the cosmos —ancient astrology side by side with the sober astronomy of Tycho Brahe, Nicolaus Copernicus, and others
- Aristotle's De Caelo1495 edition, wherein Aristotle posited that there was evidence of a round Earth.
- Galileo's book on sunspotsThe beginning of his development of a heliocentric view of the universe
- Isaac Newton's PrincipiaRare copy of the 1st edition
The Collector
- Elliott Hinkes was a graduate of Johns Hopkins (A&S 1964, Medicine 1967)
- Practicing oncologist in Los Angeles
- Collected books in the history of science during the last decades of his life
- Took courses in astronomy and physics to inform his collecting.
- Bequeathed his splendid collection (valued at over $2 million) to The Sheridan Libraries at his death in 2009.
- Hopkins Magazine profile of Dr. Elliott Hinkes and his collection.
Explore the History of Science Online
- The Royal Society's TrailblazingA user-friendly, ‘explore-at-your-own-pace’, virtual journey through science
- History of ScienceMassive Wikipedia article
- Traditions and Culture of CollectingHistoryofScience.com
- Dibner Library of the History of Science and TechnologyAt the Smithsonian Institution. One of the most important collections worldwide.
- The Galileo ProjectInformation on Galileo and the science of his time
- The Newton ProjectIntends "to make available on-line transcripts of all of Newton’s writings, including notes and marginalia, along with scholarly editorial apparatus and translations of non-English text."