Collections: Special Topics and Strengths
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Collections: Special Topics and Strengths
- French Revolution
Important areas within Special Collection, with information on library resources and other research resources.
Curator of Modern European Collections
The French Revolution at Johns Hopkins
 |
The Sheridan Libraries at Johns Hopkins have a rich collection of primary source
|
- Calendrier National, Calculé pour 30 ans et présenté à la Convention NationalePublication Date: Le 31 Decembre 1792Just acquired! A Revolutionary calendar on silk.
Pamphlets
The Sheridan Libraries have over 500 pamphlets printed during the years of the French Revolution.
Subjects include:
- Government/Official
- Laws
- Theater (plays)
- Women
- Economics or finance
- Agriculture
- Politics
- Marie Antoinette
- Louis XVI
Newspapers and Periodicals
Journalism of the French Revolution: including background, bibliography of newspapers
Link to many of the periodicals in Special Collections here at Hopkins.
Music
- La constitution en vaudevillesSatirical song collection, in the form of an almanac, lampooning the new Revolutionary institutions.
- Recueil d'hymnes philosophiques, civiques et morauxaugmenté de la note en plein-chant, d'après la musique des meilleurs auteurs, pour faciliter, sur-tout dans les campagnes, la célébration des fêtes républicaines
- La France republicaine: ou, Le miroir de la revolution françaisPatriotic poetry
Featured Primary Sources
- Les Philippiques: a collection of manuscripts c.1720A virulent satire against the duc d'Orléans, for which the author, Lagrange-Chancel, was imprisoned. Includes 7 manuscript versions, + the rare 1795 printed version of this banned text. "All that Hell could vomit forth, true and false, was expressed in the most beautiful verses, most poetic in style, and with all the art and talent imaginable."
An early, audacious attack on the royal family. - French Pamphlets5 volumes (bound) of various pamphlets from the Revolution.
Related Media
- Libraries within LibrariesHistory of Mazarinades, or C17 French political pamphlets, with many connections to Revolutionary pamphlets
- 2 Information Systems at War: C18 FranceRobert Darnton on the historical context of C18 pamphlet culture.
- French Revolution Digital ArchiveStanford and BNF collaboration
Reference Sources and Bibliography
- Find more in the library's collectionsMany bibliographies that are good starting points for research.
- French Revolution Documents2 volumes of primary source documents
- Martin and WalterTHE standard bibliography on Revolution materials
Specialized niche collections
- The Diamond Necklace Affair
- Collection des mémoires relatifs à la Révolution Française
- Marie Antoinette: a collection of many pamphlets that attacked the Queen.
- Procès19 volumes of trial records from before the Revolution.
Other Collections
- EuroDocsLinks to several online archives of primary sources
- French Revolution Digital ArchiveStanford and BNF collaboration
- Newberry LibraryA significant collection of French pamphlets