Psychology
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Psychology
- Background and Reference
Library resources related to psychology and brain science..
Neuroanatomy Online
- Zoomable Human Brain AtlasThis atlas is designed as an introduction to human neuroanatomy. Roughly 50 brain regions are labeled, though many more are visible to the trained eye.
- The Allen Brain MapThe Allen Brain Map offers data and tools to explore the complexities of human brain; created by the Allen Institute for Brain Science
C-level Reference
Note: Books have been moved off-site for the renovation. If you need a book, find it in the catalog and request it.
Browse in the Science Reference collection on C-level to find reference works that deal with psychology, the brain, and neuroscience. Click on the call numbers and you'll be able to see how they break down further so you can browse the circulating books in the shelves.
- BFBF contains books about psychology, including emotions, attitudes, developmental psychology, and cognition.
- QPQP is the big section about physiology. But anything between QP351 and QP459 is brain chemistry, neuroscience, or the senses.
- RCPsychiatry is embedded in the RC section. You can find the psychiatry books between RC321 and RC571.
Research Methods
- SAGE Research MethodsAn extensive, comprehensive online resource filled with in-depth, step-by-step descriptions of how and when to conduct specific types of research. It covers all the widely used (and some rarer) qualitative and quantitative techniques.
- Oxford Bibliographies on LinguisticsExcellent reference database for brief articles and definitions of terminology by contributors in the field.
- Open Encyclopedia of Cognitive ScienceThe Open Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science is a multidisciplinary guide to understanding the mind. A freely-available, growing collection of peer-reviewed articles introducing key topics to a broad audience of students and scholars.
- JoVE Science Education DatabaseVideo database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Videos are divided into collections like General Laboratory Techniques, Essentials of Neuroscience, and Essentials of Genetics.
- Springer Nature ExperimentsSpringer Nature Experiments searches across a large collection of protocols and methods by technique, organism, equipment, and keywords. Content is from Nature Protocols, Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, and Protocol Exchange.
- The Student Survival Guide for Research Methods in Psychologydesigned to support students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate level research methods courses by providing them with the tools they need to succeed. It goes beyond course material to help students engage more fully with research methods content.
Encyclopedias/Reference
Search background material for explanations of concepts and terms.
(All of these are online.)
- Oxford Handbooks Online: PsychologyScholarly research reviews in article format from the extensive collection of Oxford Handbooks covering psychology. Use the "Browse by Subject" function for more specific results.
- Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP)PEP is a fully searchable digital archive of classic psychoanalytic texts. Books and journals are included. Freud's collected works are included: Gesammelte Werke by Freud as well as the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud by Strachey.
Selected Print Psychology Reference Books
These are a few of our bigger reference sets about psychology.
Please request the volumes you want through the library catalog.
Handbook of PsychologyCall Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780471176695A 12-volume set, with each volume focusing on a specific area within psychology, including Biological Psychology, Assessment Psychology, and Research Methods in Psychology.
The SensesCall Number: Eisenhower C Level Reference, Non-Circulating QP431.S4425 2008ISBN: 9780126394825This is a 6-volume set. Volumes 1 and 2 cover Vision. Other volumes cover Audition, Olfaction & Taste, Pain, and Somatosensation. These books can only be used in the Eisenhower Library and cannot be checked out.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by ISBN: 9780128022030Publication Date: 2019-02-26The fourth edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly. Assessment methodology discussed includes formal testing, interviewing, and observation of behavior. The handbook also discusses assessment of personality and behavior, including intelligence, aptitude, interest, achievement, personality and psychopathology. New coverage includes use of assessments in forensic applications.
