Science and Medical Writing
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Science and Medical Writing
- Books On Scientific Writing
Selected Writing Guides
Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering by Publication Date: 2008-09-08This is an e-book. Click on the title to view online.
A Field Guide for Science Writers by Call Number: Eisenhower C Level T11.F52 2006 c. 1Publication Date: 2005-09-08This is the official text for the National Association of Science Writers
The Handbook of Technical Writing by Publication Date: 2011-11-22
From Research to Manuscript by Call Number: Eisenhower C Level T11.A47 2009 c. 1Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Find Other Science Writing Guides & Handbooks
Authorship — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Biology — Authorship.
Chemistry — Authorship.
Journalism — Authorship — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Life sciences — Authorship.
Medical writing — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Physical sciences — Authorship.
Technical writing — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Find other books in our catalog from 2005-present on the basics of scientific and technical writing.
Keep up your reading
- A writer may need to write every day, but s/he also needs to read, extensively.
- Check these literary reviews on a regular basis:
- Kenyon Review (AP 2.K37)
- New England Review (PN 2.N48)
- Paris Review (AP 4.P37)
- Hopkins Review (AP2.H79)
- Granta (PN 2 .G68)
- Stay informed with the New York Review of Books, the Times Literary Supplement, and the London Review of Books.
Science Writing Guides and Handbooks
In addition to the titles below, you can find books in Catalyst using these subject headings:
Authorship — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Biology — Authorship.
Chemistry — Authorship.
Journalism — Authorship — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Life sciences — Authorship.
Medical writing — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Physical sciences — Authorship.
Technical writing — Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- A Field Guide for Science WritersCall Number: T11.F52 2006
- The Guide to Science WritingCall Number: T11.H255 2003
- Handbook of Technical WritingCall Number: T11.A47 2009
- Scientific Writing: A Reader's and Writer's GuideCall Number: T11.L43 2007
Best Science Writing
There are several collections of award-winning or celebrated science writing, sometimes issued serially. In addition to the titles below, you can find books in Catalyst using these subject headings:
- The Best American Science WritingCall Number: Q162 .B42 2010
- The Best Science Writing OnlineCall Number: Q173.O64
- The Oxford Book of Modern Science WritingCall Number: Q171.O87 2008