History

Explore resources and tools for history and historical research.

Research Guides

Benjamin, Jules R.  A Student's Guide to History.  6th ed.  New York:  St. Martin's Press, 1994.
MSEL STACKS D16.3 .B4 1994

Brundage, Anthony.  Going to the Sources:  A Guide to Historical Research and Writing.  3rd ed.  Wheeling, IL:  Harlan Davidson, 2002.
MSEL GEN REF D16 .B893 2002

Glatthorn, Allan A. and Randy L. Joyner.  Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation:  A Step-by-Step Guide.  Thousand Oaks, CA:  Corwin Press, 2005.

Lipson, Charles.  2005.  How to Write a BA Thesis:  A Practical Guide from Your First Ideas to Your Finished Paper.  Chicago:  University of Chicago Press.
MSEL GEN REF LB2369 .L54 2005

Lukacs, John.  A Student's Guide to the Study of History.  Wilmington, DE:  ISI Books, 2000. 
MSEL STACKS D16.2 .L84 2000

Manning, Patrick.  Navigating World History:  Historians Create a Global Past.  New York:  Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
MSEL STACKS D21.3 .M285 2003

Marius, Richard.  A Short Guide to Writing About History.  New York:  HarperCollins College Publishers, 2005.
MSEL GEN REF D13 .M294 2005 

Pace, David and Sharon Pugh.  Studying for History.  New York:  HarperCollins College Publishers, 1996.
MSEL STACKS D16.3 .P33 1966

Roberts, Carol M.  The Dissertation Journey:  A Practical and Comprehensive Guide to Planning, Writing, and Defending Your Dissertation.  Thousand Oaks, CA:  Corwin Press, 2004.
MSEL STACKS LB1742 .R63 2004

Storey, William Kelleher.  Writing History:  A Guide for Students.  New York:  Oxford University Press, 2004.
MSEL GEN REF D16 .S864 2004

Williams, Robert C.  The Historian's Toolbox:  A Student's Guide to the Theory and Craft of History.  Armonk, NY:  M. E. Sharpe, 2003. 
MSEL STACKS D16 .W62 2003

Historians and Historiography

Boia, Lucian, ed.  Great Historians of the Modern Age:  An International Dictionary.  New York:  Greenwood Press, 1991.
MSEL GEN REF D14 .G751 1991.

Boyd, Kelly.  Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing.  2 vols.  Chicag  Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999. 
MSEL GEN REF D14 .E53 1999 Quarto

Cannon, John, ed.  The Blackwell Dictionary of Historians.  New York:  Blackwell, 1988.
MSEL GEN REF D14 .B581 1988

Ritter, Harry.  Dictionary of Concepts in History.  Westport, CT:  Greenwood Press, 1986.
MSEL GEN REF D13 .R58 1986

Scanlon, Jennifer and Sharon Cosner.  American Women Historians, 1700s-1900s:  A Biographical Dictionary.  Westport, CT:  Greenwood Press, 1996.
MSEL GEN REF E 175.45 .S27 1996.

Spongberg, Mary, Ann Curthoys, and Barbara Caine, eds.  Companion to Women's Historical Writing.  New York:  Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.

Wilson, Clyde N., ed.  American Historians, 1607-1865Dictionary of Literary Biography 30.  Detroit:  Gale Research Co., 1984.
MSEL GEN REF WALL

---.  American Historians, 1866-1912Dictionary of Literary Biography 47.  Detroit:  Gale Research Co., 1986.
MSEL GEN REF WALL

---.  Twentieth Century American HistoriansDictionary of Literary Biography 17.  Detroit:  Gale Research Co., 1983.
MSEL GEN REF WALL

Woolf, D.R., ed.  A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing.  2 vols.  New York:  Garland Publishing, 1998.
MSEL GEN REF D13 .G47 1998