Medicine, Nursing, and Other Health Fields

Articles and information about medicine, nursing, pharmacology, and other health fields, as well as JH medical libraries and institutions.

Databases Needing Special Access

The Welch Library subscribes to some specialized databases that require a username and/or password.

  • If a medicine-related database asks you for a password, check this list.

UpToDate -- UptoDate can be accessed only

  • through a Hopkins computer, or
  • through a device using the Hopkins wireless network

It can not be accessed through the JHU portal or VPN.

Librarian

Sue Vazakas's picture
Sue Vazakas
Contact:
Eisenhower Library, C Level, Office #C30
410-516-4153

Online Resources

The Welch Library subscribes to some databases with restrictions.


1. These require a username and/or password.

2. Limited number of users per database (unless otherwise noted):
 
  • AccessEmergencyMedicine -- 15 simultaneous users
  • AccessMedicine -- 15 simultaneous users
  • AccessSurgery -- 15 simultaneous users
  • ahd.com (American Hospital Directory) -- 5 simultaneous users
  • AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) -- only 1 user at a time
  • GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network) -- For diagnosis and informatics in infectious and tropical diseases, epidemiology, microbiology, and antimicrobial chemotherapy) -- only 1 user at a time
  • Metabolic & molecular bases of inherited disease OMMBID -- 15 simultaneous users
  • R2 Digital Library -- 2 users at a time per book

3. Note: UpToDate can now be accessed from off campus! 

To search for topics across collections of books and textbooks:

1. The library catalog includes ALL of our ~1 million e-books
--- Do your search, then use FORMAT (on the left) to choose "Books," and then "Online"
 

2. Search the AccessMedicine database
--- These are well-known medical textbooks, and your search will find book chapters about your topic

3. Search the e-book collection of NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information, at NLM)
--- Or, browse the titles here -- for books ONLY, look under "Types" and choose Book
--- There are lots of topics available. To see them all, look under "Subjects" and choose "More"

Definitions -- Make sure that you define concepts so that your audiences understand the scope of what you're discussing.

Consumer Information

Medical Textbooks (Online) -- These have a lot of overlap, so don't stress about which one to choose -- start with AccessMedicine.

Bioethics Definitions and Issues -- The 3rd edition (2004) of the Encyclopedia is online, as shown on this guide's home page.

  • If you need history or comparisons to earlier thinking, the 1st and 2nd editions are in print, as shown on that page

Here is the research guide for Chemistry.

  • If you have an e-mail that ends in "jhu.edu," you can use ChemDraw (scroll down)
  • German/English and English/German chemical dictionary (scroll down)
  • Find a journal abbreviation with CASSI (scroll down)
  •  Register for SciFinder using these instructions

On the Welch Library's YouTube channel is help with PubMed and other databases, and how to find particular kinds of information.

Loading ...