Public Health

Articles, books, statistics, how to cite references, and more information about the multidisciplinary field of public health.

Country Information

What has happened in a given country during the past few decades? Here are some resources to help you find out:

Other databases in the topic lists under "Databases by Topic" list, such as Political Science.

------------------------------------------------

Tip:   If you *must* search Google, add    site:.[country code]    to your search, to get results ONLY from a particular country.
Here is ISO's list of country codes.

-- Example: "burden of disease" site:.ug   (which is Uganda)

Data and Statistics Librarian

Go to the Data and Statistics research guide:

  • for more sources of statistics
  • for the contact information for the Data and Statistics librarian

Global Health Statistics and Data

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program collects and analyzes data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more more that 200 surveys in over 75 countries. (You must register in order to download data.)

Global Health Facts (Kaiser Foundation) -- This site ceased in April 2016. 

  • For information on global health policy, including the U.S. government’s role in global health, they refer you to their global health topic page
  • For information on U.S. government funding for global health, including trends over time and funding through the appropriations process, they refer you to their U.S. Global Health Budget Tracker

Also, here are the original sources for the information that was previously on this site:

Global Health Observatory (WHO)- Scroll down to the Global Health Observatory's theme pages for data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on a global situation and trends. (WHOSIS (WHO Statistical Information System) data are now part of this.)  

Health at a Glance: OECD Indicators -- This piece of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) site includes information about health care resources and financing, quality of care, health status, and more.

Health-EU - This is the health statistics page for this European Union site.

HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map -- Maintained by Harvard and the Children's Hospital of Boston, this interactive map allows you to monitor outbreaks by disease or country. Data are obtained by monitoring news agencies to create an early warning system.

Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) -- Managed by the United Nations Office for Humanitarian Affairs, this site allows anyone associated with an organization to upload datasets about "humanitarian data." They define this as: "1) data about the context in which a humanitarian crisis is occurring (e.g., baseline/development data, damage assessments, geospatial data); 2) data about the people affected by the crisis and their needs; and 3) data about the response by organisations and people seeking to help those who need assistance."

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) -- They provide impartial, evidence-based information about global health trends. The site includes publication summaries, policy reports, and info about their research areas which include global burden of disease and health financing.    Main supporters are the Gates Foundation and the state of Washington.

OECD.StatExtracts -- The "Health Status" link on the left provides data on worldwide health expenditures, healthcare activities (e.g., vaccinations), and more, for OECD countries.

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) -- PAHO is an international public health agency whose mission is to improve health and living standards in the countries of Central and South America. In addition to statistics and data, the site has information on countries and diseases, publications, and more.

Social Security Programs Throughout the World -- Choose a continent, then a country, and read about their social security program.

United Nations, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) -- Start by looking under "Topics."

United Nations Population Information Network (POPIN) -- POPIN is a community of population institutions organized into global, regional, and national networks. Regional population networks have been established in Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Europe), Western Asia, and Northern America. The site includes demographic and disease statistics for countries.

United Nations Population Division -- This division is responsible for monitoring the broad range of aspects of world population. It includes online publications about aging, contraceptive use, HIV/AIDS, migration, and many more topics. It has reports from 1974 until the present about adolescents and youth, ageing, environment, family planning, fertility, HIV/AIDS, international migration, marriage and unions, mortality, MDG's (Millennium Development Goals), population policies and trends, and urbanization.   

World Bank "Topics" page - Here are information and statistics on topics including AIDS, environmental health, flu, nutrition, poverty and health, and solid waste management. (Scroll down to A-Z list.)

  • The World Bank's eLibrary also has books about health financing in other countries. Here they are (most of them are online).

World Health Organization - You can choose "Health Topics" or "Countries" to start your search

Worldwide Sources of Data on the Welch Site -- On the left; mouse over for descriptions.