Consumer Health Information -- Information for patients and other laypeople
- Start with MedlinePlus.gov
- AccessMedicine is a database of respected medical textbooks, which can all be searched at once
- Your search will give you a list of book chapters about your topic
- To narrow your search, add another word to your search, or choose "Narrow by Topic"
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR, which is part orf CDC)
- Tip: The ATSDR search box gives a results list that’s not easy to read. Scroll down to "Toxicological Profiles" and use the alphabetical list find your chemical. You'll find tons of information.
Library Catalog -- Books
- Search the library catalog for books about the general topic, using words such as "environmental," "contamination," or "pollution"
- For example, here is a search for the phrase "environmental fate" in the TITLE
- Use the filters on the left to set the date range and other limits that you want
Library Home Page --> Guides by Topic (on the right)
- Earth and Environmental Sciences --> Handbooks and Background
- Chemistry and Chemical Engineering --> Online Resources --> Chemical and Material Properties -->
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and Merck Index -- these give synonyms, molecular formula, where found, and other information
To find out what's in a database, click the little dot at the end of its name!
Sue Vazakas, email@example.com
Shannon Simpson, firstname.lastname@example.org
Guides by Topic
Medicine, Nursing, and Other Health Professions
- Tabs include adverse effects, mechanisms of action, and PK/PD
- Databases listed under each tab also include those from government agencies such as CDC and NIH
- Use PubMed; you won't need EMBASE
- *Don't* use Google to find PubMed, or you won't be able to get to many of the full text of articles
- MeSH headings give you definitions!
Start with the EPA (Environmental Protection Agency).
- Do a search
- If you get more than about 40 results, use Advanced Search OR use the filters on the left
- Put the word in the TITLE
Guides by Topic
Earth and Environmental Sciences --> Online Resources
- These databases have scholarly articles and some trade journal articles
- Start with GeoRef and Scopus, and also EPA (Environmental Protection Agency)
- Note the other tabs, which list additional databases
Medicine, Nursing, and Other Health Professions --> Drugs and Pharmacology
- Databases under the "mechanisms of action" tab include environmental fate and toxicity
- Note especially the HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank) -- "HSDB provides toxicity data for over 5,800 potentially hazardous chemicals. It also has information on emergency handling procedures, industrial hygiene, environmental fate, human exposure, detection methods, and regulatory requirements."
Guides by Topic
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering --> Online Resources
- All databases under "Core" are journal articles
- Databases under "Chemical and Material Properties" are *not* journal articles
- Start with CQ Researcher.
- If you find a specific law that you want to read, go to Congress.gov.
- Bills -- Listed from 1973 (93rd Congress) to the present
- Bill full text -- Available from 1989 (101st Congress)
- Law full text -- Available from 1995 (104th Congress)
- Amendments -- Listed from 1981 (97th Congress)
- Amendment full text -- Available from 1995 (104th Congress) to the present
Librarians who can help with law and policy:
- Jim Gillispie,GIS and Data Services on A Level, email@example.com
- Yunshan Ye, Political Science Librarian, firstname.lastname@example.org
These gentlemen are both very smart and incredibly nice. Please send them a note as soon as you realize that you will need help.
Science news can be found in several places.
- General Science Full-text -- This database includes articles from scholarly and trade publications, including Science, Nature, and the New York Times
- ABI/INFORM -- This is a business database, which includes news about new products and other business-related topics
- Guides by Topic --> News and Newspapers -- The sources under "Core" are current U.S. newspapers
Guides by Topic --> Citing Sources --> APA
- Here are examples of how to cite articles, books and books chapters, reports, and more
- Remember that ONLINE sources require MORE information, such as date accessed
- Always err on the side of too much information rather than not enough; it's extremely important that your professors, readers, and future employers be able to find the information that you cite