Engineering

Explore engineering articles, patents, standards, and other information.

Some Special Book Collections

The MICCAI (Medical Image Computing and ComputerAssisted Intervention) Society's conferences are published ONLINE by Springer.

Search MICCAI papers here.

Also: 

The famous lectures by Richard Feynman are available online.

  •  They can be read for free, but not downoaded
Loading ...

Start with Background Information

Get an overview of your topic by searching textbooks and review articles.


Textbooks:
  • AccessEngineering -- Search across engineering reference books in all areas of engineering at the same time, including Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and many more
     
  • CHEMnetBASE -- Search each of  these chemical handbooks individually, including CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, and Dictionary of Organic Compounds
     
  • CRCnetBASE -- This database is no longer separate. You should search for your keywords in the search box.
     
  • Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science -- Use these short ebooks to get an overview of subjects you need to learn about
Review Articles -- These are overviews of a topic, including its history and state of the art. They are longer than most articles, and have lots of references. 
  • Engineering -- Do a search in Compendex, and add the word  "review" to the article TITLE
  • Medicine and related topics -- Do a search in PubMed, and choose "review article" (top left, under "Publication Types")

Google Scholar -- Important Tips

Tips for Using Google Scholar


1) Advanced Search -- In all databases as well as Google Scholar, use "Advanced Search."

  • This will let you focus your search to get better results, as well as save you a lot of time

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) FINDIT@JHU -- In all library databases plus Google Scholar, the FINDIT@JHU link will show you all of the ways that you can get an article.

  • On a Hopkins computer, Google Scholar automatically shows you FIND IT@JHU  links

  • But on a non-Hopkins device (like your laptop), you should

    --- log in through the portal (my.jhu.edu), OR
    --- go to the library home page , choose "Articles and Databases," and use the "Google Scholar" tab

3) If you wish, you can configure Scholar to always show you FIND IT

  • In the upper left corner, click the icon with 3 lines; choose "Settings"; choose "Library Links"; click "Save"
  • If you do not see "FIND IT" next to a citation, look below the citation and click on the little arrow. Usually, the FINDIT link will magically appear.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4) Google BOOKS -- In your results, you mighyt see [BOOKS]. However, copyright law prevents Google from showing you the whole book. Search the library catalog for the book you want, because if we have it, you can see 100% of it.