Computer Science and Information Security
What's a "technical report" ?
A technical report is "an important means of... recording... the activities and the results of progress and research in... science and technology.
"Where once reports were simply the reporting of government-sponsored research, they are now used as a means of communicating information for technical development throughout the world."
[Report Series Codes Dictionary, 3rd edition, 1986]
Specialized Tech Report Collections
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center)
- DTIC's publicly available collection of military reports and documents, going all the way back to the beginning of the 1900's, is available through Science.gov
NASA Technical Reports Server [1915+] -- This is a continually growing collection of information about NASA's current and historical research and engineering. It contains:
- NACA [National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics] information covers 1915-1958
- NASA information covers 1958 to the present
- NIX collection includes images, photos, movies, and videos downloaded from the NASA Image eXchange
For reports from the Jet Propulsion Lab, the best thing to do (after exhausting all other options) is to contact the library directly at firstname.lastname@example.org.
HISTORY OF NUCLEAR TECHNOLOGY
Los Alamos Technical Reports site -- In 2002, the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) terminated public access to thousands of unclassified reports about nuclear science and technology.
Fortunately, almost all of the withdrawn reports were acquired and preserved so that the public has access to them.
How to Find and Get Technical Reports
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) [1964 to the present, with some info as far back as 1899] - NTIS is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce and is responsible for storing and disseminating technical reports generated from U.S. government-sponsored work. The database includes 3 million+ unclassified DoD, DoE, NASA, and other reports.
NTIS reports can be searched in two ways:
- Search the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
- Search the NTIS database [this is easier]
To GET reports: Call or go to the GIS & Data Services office on A Level (410-516-8360), and ask to have an NTIS report ordered for you. This service is free of charge.
Science.gov -- 200 million pages of science information and R&D results for 36+ U.S. government agencies.
- Search here for to get the list of specialized U.S. government databases available for searching
- Go here for the page that allows you to search across all of them at the same time
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library) -- This site has detailed reports that include materials data, mathematical functions, time series, diffraction patterns, measurements, and much more. ata provided are from direct measurements.
WorldWideScience.org -- This web site, which also includes the information within Science.gov (listed above), is a gateway to national and international scientific databases. You can search resources from 17 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, France, Germany, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, and the UK.
Reports Written by JHU Authors
Technical reports written by authors with JHU affiliations can be print or electronic.
|Computer Science Department||JScholarship site||1985-1989||
"Historic Tech Reports"; full text
|Computer Science Department||University Archives, Brody Learning Commons||1987-1990||
Print only; here's a list
|Computer Science Department||JScholarship site||2009-2012||
"Current Tech Reports"; full text
|Electrical and Computer Engineering Department||JScholarship site||2009-2012||
|Electrical Engineering Department||University Archives, Brody Learning Commons||
Papers of Prof. Jan Minkowski
From the Carlyle Barton Lab, formerly in Barton Hall
Print only; here is a list
|Human Language Technology Center of Excellence (HLTCOE)||HLTCOE site||2009+||full text|
|Mathematical Sciences Department||
University Archives, Brody Learning Commons
Print only; here is a list