Data and Statistics
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Data and Statistics
- Health and Medicine
Johns Hopkins Specific Data and Statistics
- JHU School of Public Health - Department of Mental Health DatasetsData available from faculty in the Department of Mental Health. Students who are interested in using any of these datasets should contact individual investigators.
- Finding Health Statitics - Welch Medical LibraryComprehensive guide on finding health statistics across a range of health subjects.
- Finding Datasets for Secondary Analysis - Welch Medical LibraryComprehensive guide to data sources across a range of health subjects.
Local Health Resources
The Baltimore City Health Department has a wealth of statistical information about the state of Baltimoreans' health.
The Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene should also be a first stop for searching for health-related information pertaining to our city and region.
The Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future is an excellent place to find information on the availability, or lack therof, of healthy food options for Baltimoreans.
Health
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As one of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking. See the "Data & Surveys" section for information about and access to data collections.
CDC Wonder
Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) -- is an easy-to-use internet system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more more that 200 surveys in over 75 countries. You must register in order to download data. Statcompiler allows you to build customized tables from hundreds of DHS surveys and indicators. STATcompiler accesses nearly all of the population and health indicators that are published in DHS final reports. You can view Country Quickstats and compare indicators between countries.
Healthdata.gov
A public resource designed to bring together high-value datasets, tools, and applications using data about health and health care to support your need for better knowledge and to help you to solve problems. These datasets and tools have been gathered from agencies across the Federal government with the goal of improving health for all Americans.
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
HMCA is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest health care philanthropy organization in the United States. HMCA is the official data archive of the Foundation, and is devoted to preserving and making available research data that have significant secondary-analytic value for expanding knowledge on, and ultimately contributing to, improvement of the health of people in the United States.
Integrated Health Interview Series (IHIS)
A project of the Minnesota Population Center (MPC). Harmonized data and documentation for the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) from 1960 until the present.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS is the nation’s principal health statistics agency. Here you can obtain access to current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG). Click on "Surveys and Data Collections" in the menu to view all. NCHS also provides a variety of prepared statistical resources as well.
SEER Cancer Statistics
The National Cancer Institute, Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) collects information on incidence, survival, and prevalence from specific geographic areas representing 26 percent of the US population and compiles reports on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire US.
State Health Facts.org
A Kaiser Family Foundation Web site that provides statistics on more than 500 health topics for each state.
Data Planet
Comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years.
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)
GHO theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme. The GHO database provides access to an interactive repository of health statistics. Users are able to display data for selected indicators, health topics, countries and regions, and download the customized tables in Excel format. The GHO country data includes all country statistics and health profiles that are available within WHO.
COVID-19 Data and Statistics
COVID-19 Data
For a comprehensive listing of COVID-19 datasets, please visit the COVID-19 section of the Finding Datasets for Secondary Analysis Welch Medical Library guide.
COVID-19 Statistics
For a comprehensive listing of COVID-19 statistics, please visit the COVID-19 section of the Finding Health Statistics Welch Medical Library guide.
Additional Resources
Below are some highlighted resources, as well as resources for accessing JHU specific COVID-19 patient data.
- Open-Access Data and Computational Resources to Address COVID-19The NIH Office of Data Science Strategy maintains a list of COVID-19 open-access data and computational resources being provided by federal agencies, including NIH, public consortia, and private entities. These resources are freely available to researchers, and the page is routinely updated as more resources become available.
- COVID-19 Case Surveillance Public Use DataThe CDC provides the public with COVID-19 case surveillance data in a 12 data element public use dataset of the line-listed dataset of all COVID-19 cases shared with CDC.
- ICPSR COVID-19 Data RepositoryThe COVID-19 Data Repository is a repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic. Deposits include all data, annotated program code, command files, and documentation necessary to understand the data collection and/or replicate research findings.
- COVID-19 Dashboard DataThis is the data repository for the 2019 Novel Coronavirus Visual Dashboard operated by the Johns Hopkins University Center for Systems Science and Engineering (JHU CSSE).
- COVID-19 Case Surveillance Public Use DataThe CDC provides the public with COVID-19 case surveillance data in a 12 data element public use dataset of the line-listed dataset of all COVID-19 cases shared with CDC.
- NCATS National COVID Cohort Collaborative (N3C)One of the largest collections of clinical data related to COVID-19 symptoms and patient outcomes in the United States. It also includes a powerful analytics platform and tool set for online discovery, visualization and collaboration. To apply for access to the N3C data, researchers will need to complete a number of steps.
COVID-19 Research Data at Johns Hopkins
Access to COVID-19 related patient data at Johns Hopkins University is moderated through the Johns Hopkins Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR). To access COVID-19 data at Johns Hopkins you will need to reach out to the appropriate ICTR program. Relevant ICTR programs involved with COVID-19 data, and the associated data purview, are listed below.
| ICTR Program | Program Description | Resource Category |
|---|---|---|
| COVID-19 and Data Research Evaluation (CADRE) Committee | CADRE moderates access to JHU specific COVID-19 data. Investigators needing access to institutional data for Hopkins patients to conduct COVID-19 research must either come to a convened CADRE Review meeting or request a CADRE Review waiver. CADRE Review approval, or a waiver, is a required component of the IRB application. | Data Access |
| Core for Clinical Research Data Acquisition (CCDA) | The Core for Clinical Research Data Acquisition (CCDA) assists researchers with accessing clinical data for research purposes. The CCDA is staffed with experienced data analysts who will assist you with access to data while also helping you comply with Data Trust privacy and security regulations. | Data Access |
| Precision Medicine Analytics Platform (PMAP) | The PMAP platform pulls data from the Epic Medical Record and other data sources into a Data Commons, where the data are integrated together and available in a format that is operable by sophisticated machine learning and natural language processing technologies. With IRB approval, data from the PMAP Data Commons can be provisioned into a secure Research Environment for analysis by study teams and data scientists using tools like the Jupyter notebook and PMAP-developed cohort discovery tools. | Data Access and Analysis |
| DataTrust | Research use of data from most Johns Hopkins Medicine (SOM, JHHS) health and business databases and sources, including the sharing of data with external collaborators or databases, may require review and approval by the JHM Data Trust Council. For more details see: https://guides.library.jhu.edu/protecting_identifiers/datatrust | Data Privacy and Security |
| COVID-19 Clinical Research Center | The COVID-19 Clinical Research Center offers planning resources for investigators conducting COVID-19 research involving participant interaction, data, and stored specimens. The center also provides information about IRB approved COVID-19 research studies, links to relevant resources, and contact people to whom you can reach out for help at each stage of research. | Data Collection |