Data and Statistics
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Data and Statistics
- Alternative Federal Data
Finding and accessing data and statistics across a range of disciplines.
Get Involved
If you are interested in getting involved with ongoing federal data rescue efforts, visit the How do I join the Data Rescue Project? section of the Data Rescue Project.
If you are currently, or planning to archive federal data, MIT Data Management Services has a helpful Checklist for USA Federal Data Backups.
Data Services
We are here to help you find, use, manage, visualize and share your data. Contact us to schedule a consultation. View and register for upcoming workshops. Visit our website to learn more about our services.
Library Databases wtih Federal Data
These databases are available to JHU affiliates. Databases on this list continue to maintain federal data that has been otherwise removed from public access.
-
PolicyMapAn easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. CDC PLACES (Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates), the Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), and the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST), and other essential surveys are still available in PolicyMap.
-
Sage DataSage Data, formerly Data Planet, is a data aggregation tool that allows you to create custom tables and charts from data across 16 subject areas.
-
ESRI's Maps for Public PolicyEsri’s Maps for Public Policy is a GIS database portal for identifying, building, and sharing maps associated with public policy issues (i.e. housing, transportation, public safety, economic opportunity). Maps for Public Policy works in tandem with the ArcGIS Online for Johns Hopkins database and uses many of the same GIS features and functionality.
-
Social ExplorerAn online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information.
-
ICPSRICPSR, the largest social and behavioral data repository. Surveys that have been removed from federal websites may still be available in ICPSR.
Open Platforms and Databases with Federal Data
These databases and platforms maintain access to federal data that has been otherwise removed.
-
IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
-
Census ReporterCensus Reporter is an independent project to make it easier to access and use information from the U.S. Census bureau. Census Report includes the 2023 American Community Survey data.
Locating Archived Federal Data
Many federal datasets and websites that were removed or altered may still be accessible through archiving services and alternative repositories.
-
Data Rescue Backups ListMany federal datasets and websites that were removed or altered may still be accessible through archiving services and alternative repositories.
-
Find Lost DataA centralized search platform for locating datasets previously hosted on government websites - developed by Boston University School of Public Health.
General Archived Federal Data
-
Data LumosDataLumos is an ICPSR hosted crowd-sourced repository for valuable government data.
-
Archive of data.govA complete archive of federal public datasets linked by Data.gov, maintained and updated regularly by Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab.
-
Data from CDC, EPA, HRSA, and MoreThe SDOH & Place Project have archived data and documentation from the CDC, EPA, and other federal agencies and made it available for download on Box.
-
Data RefugeData Refuge archive of assorted federal data.
Health Data
-
CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025CDC Datasets prior to January 28th, 2025 have been archived on the Internet Archive.
Environmental, Climate, and Energy Data
-
Climate MirrorThe Climate Mirror Project mirrors and archives U.S. Government websites and datasets related to climate, climate change, and global warming.
-
Open Energy Data Initiative (OEDI)The Open Data Energy Initiative (OEDI) provides free access to data generated from efforts funded by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and supporting projects and partnerships.
-
Environmental Data and Governance Initiative (EDGI) - Safeguarding Federal Environmental Data and InformationThe Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is supporting the End of Term Archive and coordinating across organizations to preserve key federal environmental information.
-
Public Environmental Data ProjectThe Public Environmental Data Project is a collaborative effort that is preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data, including key tools such as the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool.
-
Federal Environmental Justice TrackerHarvard Law School’s Environmental & Energy Law Program tracks federal actions related to environmental justice and is collecting climate and law datasets.