Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Related Spectra Resources
These are online resources which provide various spectra information, or at least citations to the original research for the spectra of specific compounds.
Recommended Web Sites for Spectra and
This site includes information on a wide range of spectroscopy topics, including NMR, IR, UV and mass spec. Access to some features, such as the online e-zine Spectral Lines, requires (no-cost) registration. This site includes discussion forums and links to other spectroscopy-related websites, including online databases of spectral data.
NIST Atomic Spectra Database
This site can be searched by "lines" (Spectral lines and associated energy levels) or "levels" (energy levels), and also includes a table of ground states and ionization energies for neutral atoms. [Produced by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)].
WebBook [scroll down to "Documentation"]
Includes IR, mass spec, and UV spectra for thousands of compounds.
Integrated Spectral Data Base
System for Organic Compounds
Maintained by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, this database includes NMR, IR, and MS data for tens of thousands of compounds. Access is free. The providers request that users not download more than 50 files per day, and that you acknowledge them if any data are used in a publication or presentation.
Produced by Thermo Scientific, this is a free web-based spectral database service for the chemical research community. It includes spectral data from many different instrument types including FT-IR, UV-Vis, NIR, Raman, MS, NMR (13C, 1H and others), XRD, and more. The site also includes a link to a fee-based database of FT-IR spectra produced by Thermo Scientific.
In the Library
Here is a list of all of the spectra that are located in the Eisenhower Library. Some are in the Science Reference section and some are on the regular shelves.
The list includes:
NOTE: They are categorized by the type of spectrum and whether the book contains actual spectra, data, or discussion (e.g., “NMR Spectra,” NMR Data,” “NMR Text,” “IR Spectra").