French Language and Literature
Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the French language and literature.
Find All the Books on a Subject
Go beyond Hopkins
Use the databases below to find books and other materials not found at Hopkins. Request directly online.
- WorldCatSearch all US and many European research libraries
- BorrowDirectSearch and request books from the libraries of the Ivy League universities plus University of Chicago, MIT, Duke, and Stanford. Expect delivery in 3-5 days.
Bibliographie der französischen Sprach-und-Literaturwissenschaft. (the "Klapp").
- Absolutely essential resource for French-language scholarship. Many resources not in any database.
- A Level Reference: Z 2171.B56 (1956-present) for print volumes (good for browsing).
- The Klapp online covers 1991 to present.
Tools for Grad Students
These documents are absolutely essential for grad students; faculty too.
Nearly complete lists of the most importand and valuable resources for scholarly research in literature.
- Secondary Literaturean almost complete list of resources for finding critical studies on French literature
- Primary Literaturean almost complete guide to resources for identifying and locating manuscripts, books, and other primary sources.
Databases and Online Resources
Journal Articles and Web Resources
While the MLA International Bibliography is an essential resource to use, there are many other databases that index articles, book chapters, and other scholarship on French literature and other humanities disciplines.
- The complete list of library-licensed resources is here. Find not only other indexes, but e-text archives, encyclopedias, dictionaries and e-journals
- One of the most important Web sites for French literary scholarship is Fabula.org.
Browse to the Max
|Browsing the library shelves is an age-old and still crucial research strategy.
Exploit its power by using the Library of Congress call number system to its maximum potential.
- Overall call numbers in the library
- P call numbers
- Click on the PQ in the link above to see a detailed breakdown of call numbers in French literature
- Collège de FranceListen to lectures or watch videos. Get a feel for what it's like to study in France.