French Language and Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- French Language and Literature
- Essential Tools
Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the French language and literature.
Tools of Literary Research in French
 |
Essential Tools
|
- Primary Literature: a guideLocate, identify, get access to, find obscure titles, authors, documents. Find what books were available at a given time, identify the literary and bibliographic context of a writer or subject.
- Secondary Literature: a guidefind critical studies on an author, work, or topic. Discover essential online resources as well as crucial print resources that are NOT online
- The KlappBibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. THE most important source for French-language critical studies.
- Pascal and FrancisCoverage stopped in 2015, but many French materials are still linked.
- MLA International BibliographyLargest database of critical literature; includes some French-language material, but also the largest corpus of English-language studies
- ARTFLOne of the largest collections of French e-texts. Also includes many specialized databases, like the Encyclopédie Electronique and historical French dictionaries.
- Grand Robert de la langue françaiseOnline dictionary
Research Guides
 |
Add these to your toolbox |
- Using Periodicals in Researchhow to find articles in 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th century journals
- Francophone Literaturebibliography of primary and secondary sources
- MLA Styleexamples, guide to using the correct citation style
- Useful Keywords to use in searchingthese are part of the standard vocabulary of catalogs. Use them to find genres or categories of books : indexes, correspondence, bibliographies, biographies., etc.
Literary Theory
Online resources:
- The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
- Cambridge History of Literary Criticism
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Literary Theory
Selected Books:
- Theory after theory : an intellectual history of literary theory from 1950 to the early 21st century.
- Encyclopedia of literary critics and criticism.
- Literary theory : the basics.
- Literary theory : an introduction (new edition) by Terry Eagleton.
Find More:
Literature--History and Criticism--Theory