The Sheridan Libraries

Data Sources for International Relations (SAIS)

IPUMS Series This link opens in a new window
Find data from 1960 to present, from 130 censuses from around the world, and U.S. population data back to 1850.

U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base
Demographic data for 228 countries and areas of the world, covering 1950-present, with projections to 2050.
United Nations Population Information Network
Gateway to a variety of UN websites with population data.
World Bank Health Nutrition & Population Database
World Population Prospects (United Nations)
Population data from 1950, with projections to 2050.

National Population Census of China This link opens in a new window
Data of 2010 national census, plus 31 provinces, centrally administered municipalities, and 2872 units at county level.

EIU China Focus City Data
Focused on 31 provinces and select cities in China. To access, click on More in the Navigation Bar on the top right.
Census Digital Library (India)
A searchable repository of all publicly-available materials related to the India population censuses dating from the 1800s to present.

International Labour Migration Statistics (ILO)
ILO's ILMS database. Note the ILOSTAT Database has data you can manipulate for spreadsheets.
International Migration Outlook (OECD)
Find the most current OECD report.
United Nations Population Division
Includes international migrant stock / flows and international migrant stock datasets
UN High Commissioner on Refugees (UNHCR)
Site includes access to statistics and "The State of the World's Refugees" publications.
World Migration Report (Int'l Organization for Migration)
Annual report.
World Bank Migration
Scroll down to find the Data portal for remittances.
Global Bilateral Migration Data Base (World Bank)
Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000.
Migration Data Hub
Via a non-partisan think-tank, MPI provides authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends.

OECD Data This link opens in a new window
On the left-hand side scroll to OECD International Migration Statistics.

Center for Systemic Peace: Data
Data sets for forcibly displaced populations, major episodes of political violence, state failure, high casualty terrorist bombings, regime authority characteristics and transitions, coups d'etats, state fragility index and conflict in India.

Immigration Statistics, (U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security)
Official U.S. statistics
U.S. Census Bureau, Migration and Place of Birth
Immigration data from the U.S. Census Bureau
Center for Immigration Studies (CIS)
CIS is a non-profit think tank devoted to research and policy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the US.

The World's Women: Trends and Statistics (UN)
Ongoing series from the United Nations.
UNWomen
UNWomen produces publications such as the Progress of the World’s Women, with statistical annexes.
Woman Stats Project
To view data sets, you will need to register.
World Bank Gender Statistics
OECD Gender Equality
Includes data from non-OECD countries.
State of the World's Children (UNICEF)
Annual report.

City Population (UNData)
By sex, city, and city type.
EIU China Focus City Data
Focused on 31 provinces and select cities in China. To access, click on More in the Navigation Bar on the top right.
EIU CityData
Contains pricing information on over 160 products and services in 140 cities worldwide, gathered from the EIU Worldwide Cost of Living Survey.
World Urbanization Prospects (United Nations)
Estimates and future projections of the urban and rural populations.