The Sheridan Libraries

Data Sources for International Relations (SAIS)

Election Resources on the Internet
A free portal to web sites with election data for over 120 countries.
Electoral Geography 2.0
Includes international electoral results at the national and provincial levels. U.S. data not current.
IFES Election Guide
Election data and information from IFES, an international nonprofit dedicated to the building of democratic societies.
PARLINE Database on National Parliaments
The Inter-Parliamentary Union provides information on the structure and working methods of 262 parliamentary chambers in all countries with a national legislature.
Global Elections Database
Provides information on the results of both national and subnational elections around the world.
Center for Systemic Peace: Data
Data sets for forcibly displaced populations, major episodes of political violence, state failure, high casualty terrorist bombings, regime authority characteristics and transitions, coups d'etats, state fragility index and conflict in India.
Elections in Asia and the Pacific: a data handbook
Historical (published 2021) overview of national elections and referendums in the Middle East, Central Asia and the Caucasus, and South Asia.
Elections in the Americas: a data handbook
Covers North America, Central America, the Caribbean and South America up to 2003.
Elections in Africa: a data handbook
Covers elections throughout Africa up to 1998.

Pew Global Attitudes Project Key Indicators Database
Interactive database with results of Pew Global Attitudes surveys conducted since 2002.

Polling the Nations
Database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world.

Afrobarometer
Public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, and economic conditions in more than 35 countries.
Arab Barometer
Produces scientifically reliable data on political attitudes of ordinary citizens.
Asian Barometer
Includes surveys
Eurobarometer
Survey and trends data search tool.
PollingReport.com
A non-partisan resource for trends in American public opinion.

Countrydata.com This link opens in a new window
Offers over 75 country-risk related variables, as well as forecasts, economic, political, geographic, and social data from the PRS Group’s Political Risk Services.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Source for respected country analysis reports, data, and industry information. Click on "Geography" to search by country.

Worldwide Governance Indicators (World Bank)
Reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212 countries and territories for six dimensions of governance.
Freedom House
Their annual Freedom in the World report assesses the state of freedom in various countries.
Transparency International
Check under "What We Do" tab for Corruption By Topic and Corruption By Country data.
Coface: Country Risk and Economic Research
A free website offering country risk and business climate information
Legatum Prosperity Index
An annual ranking of 110 countries, according to a variety of factors including wealth, economic growth, personal wellbeing, governance, and quality of life.
Polity IV Project
A data resource for studying "regime change and the effects of regime authority."

For a more complete list of Risk resources, please consult the Country Risk page in the Country Research guide.

CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, and interest groups.
Political Money Line (CQ) This link opens in a new window
Tracks contributions from corporations, associations and unions to US congressional members, candidates and party committees.
CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, and interest groups.

OpenSecrets.org
From the Center for Responsive Politics, a source for data about money and politics in the US.